We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Marchwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We only stayed one night but were very pleased with the hotel. The receptionist was very pleasant and friendly although it was quite late. We requested a ground floor room and got one. It was a very nice clean en suite room at a very reasonable price. The breakfast was one of the very best I have had in an hotel which has a buffet breakfast. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not in the very center of the city but very convenient for the university.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    220
    120
    27
    12
See reviews for
81
194
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Friendly staff, good sized room for a single person. No lift, which is a bit of a pain, but the staff did offer to carry by luggage up to the second floor, which entailed 3 sets of stairs. My room was clean and tidy and very quiet. I did not eat at the restuarant next door so can not comment. This is my second stay at the hotel and would stay again. Good car parking facilities, although it can be a bit packed on a the weekend. It is a bit out of the city centre, but has it's own car park and is in a quiet area. There is a couple of pubs to eat at and a chinese, also a huge Sainsbury's all within five minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My room was clean but decor and furnishings are rather old fashioned. Radiator in bathroom was on full and could not be switched off. Basic breakfast but tasted fine. Staff were polite and helpful. I did ask about smell of smoke in reception and corridor on 1 st floor - it was from staff smoking but front entrance which was coming back into hotel!
Unlikely yo return.

Room Tip: I had a room at back which was quiet. Be warned - noise from rooms above as floors creaky and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cacky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to departing for a cruise the next day. The hotel is around a 25 minute drive to the docks. Car parking available, we managed to park just outside the door, but wondered if we had moved the car we would be able to get parked again easily. Reception staff were very warm and welcoming and our room was more than adequate for an overnight stay. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and staff helpful and efficient. There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel, but this was not open to take bookings when we arrived, and as we had arranged to meet up with friends in Southampton in the evening, had to walk up the high street to find somewhere to eat, which on first impression was not particularly awe inspiring. We did manage to find a cafe frequented by students and the food was fine. Only downside to this hotel is there is no 'evening restaurant', lift and no bar. However, would recommend for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting my son at the university. It was adequate but We had to ask for a bigger room as the "double" looked more like a single. The lady on reception was charming & showed us one of their executive rooms which was very kind. however even in the "executive" room the general fittings were very poor & the bathroom even worse (terrible dribble of a shower). breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff very friendly & helpful but at £75 per night its over priced but then you are in walking distance of uni & Portswood with pubs etc.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buntys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Pros easy free parking and wifi
Near Portswood High Street lots of shops and large Sainsburys
Would be convenient for visiting University
Clean basic rooms,(smaller than average) ok breakfast
Cons No lift
No restaurant
Bathrooms leave much to be desired small and dubious looking bath mat they advise you
to use.definately lacks modernity and sparkle
Thin walls you can hear next door quite clearly
It was adequate for our one night visit but not a hotel I would choose for a longer stay as there are what I consider better quality hotels in Southampton for much the same price

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymraes_160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.helens
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the last night of our Easter break. Upon arrival the staff where most welcoming. Our rooms where spotless with realy comfortable beds , nice and warm with lots of extras. Breakfast at the hotel was brilliant with a very varied choice on the menu. Would highly recommended this hotel to friends and family. (only draw back is no bar :( but plenty of local ones to choose from) "The Mitre"

Room Tip: Room 206 is facing the car-park at the rear and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen250360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing