We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid summer stay - hot and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was handy for the Cruise Terminal. Room was pretty small. Hotel served its purpose as a bed for the night but dont expect 3 or 4 star. You get what you pay for. Room was unbearably hot (I cooled myself with a couple of ice packs I had used to take a cold drink with us and would not have survived without. 2am was really noisy with students in the street shouting and making a nuisance of themselves. Would I stay again? Unlikely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air-con if one exists. There is a very large supermarket 5 mins away if you nee...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill.e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Highfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 550 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Only a 1 night stop over, staying with my teenage son. No issues at all I have to say. From the booking through to departure the staff and all aspects of the stay were great. There is free parking on the grounds and good free WiFi in the rooms. Breakfast was a buffet style and was included - very filling and tasty.
Only reason not a 5 star is not everything was perfect (ensuite a little shabby and not enough plug outlets in room)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank jmanley001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and found the staff really friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and its position with regards to getting in and out to the airport or station was a doddle. Car parking is plentiful and the local pubs both friendly and close. There is a cash point within 50m and as are many shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BicesterEvertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for a conference, slight discount via university. This is a nice, clean, modern hotel, good parking, easy to find. No lift, but apart from that v well equipped. Good breakfast, and they took especially good care when I left a computer lead behind. Would definitely stay here again in Southampton.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discerningdiner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night - the rooms are fine. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great! It's very close to shops and eating places and not too far from a local train station (St Denys) as well. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debnickfaymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A great overnight stay near to a bus stop to avoid high NCP charges in Souithampton Centre. Room had everything we needed and the breakfast had plenty of choice. Situated next to a great bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 nt, as my daughter had an interview at the university, so within walking distance to both the Highfield campus and The Avenue.
We arrived late after a long drive from the north and was greated by a lovely man on reception who was very friendly and welcoming.
Rooms where just right, very clean, comfortable and had just what we needed for our stay.
Breakfast was excellent, great choice and plenty of helpful staff on hand with a smile.
As my daughter will probably be going to Southampton Uni from September am sure that we will be using this hotel quite alot for our stays.
Excellent value for moeny and would recommend.
Thank you Highfield Hotel, always nice to commend good service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnForber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Southampton
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 25 in Southampton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing