We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient for pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Swansea, Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very convenient for pre-cruise stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel prior to a cruise and were very happy with it. There is a large free carpark and the staff are very friendly & helpful. The breakfasts were very good and our room was very quiet and comfortable. The only downside is that there is no lift which may prove problematic for some. The hotel is situated in the Portswood area of Southampton where there are many shops and a variety of eating places. There is also a new, very large Sainsbury's store a few minutes walk from the hotel which was a real bonus. All in all, a very good stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 which was very large and in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    220
    120
    27
    12
See reviews for
81
194
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Highfield House for a conference at the Southampton University, which was convenient, as the hotel is less than 15 minutes of walking from the campus.
The hotel itself is nice. I found the room to be somewhat small, however it's a standard size in many hotels. It was clean, though, and felt nice to stay in. The reception clerks were very nice, friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was good.
There's a nice restaurant next door with delicious food, and they give you a 10% discount if you're a guest of the hotel. Also, there are lots of shops in the area, and if you need to go to the city center - it's a 10 minutes bus ride.
Overall, nice and quiet, and I definitely recommend it, especially if you're looking for a place to stay near the University of Southampton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, U.K
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is situated in a good place for ourselves so we go several times a year, although we do promise ourselves we will try to go somewhere that doesnot feel as down trodden.
The good thing is if you are staying in the hotel you get a discount in the restaurant next door which is superb.
The price can be a little expensive depending what is going on in the city at the time.
We always take our own pillows as theirs are flat as pancakes.
It is generally ok just needs a little bit of work here and there but the staff are always very kind and caring.
Breakfast is vey good.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms are of the same quality etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandora_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
328 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here while on a course at the University. The hotel was very comfortable and clean, my room was very hot so I left the window open during the day when i wasn't there. There was no lift (at least on the side of the building where my room was) so I had to carry by bulky suitcase up a few stairs. The breakfast was more than adequate with a large variety to choose from. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

There were restaurants and stores within walking distance. The only thing I didn't care for was the shower. The shower was difficult to figure out how to use and once I got it to work I couldn't figure out how to extend it out further from the wall. Other than that the stay was great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starrz3788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Inigoes, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here when my son graduated with his Master's degree from the University of Southampton. I have never seen a staff so friendly and dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. Breakfast each morning was great, and the free Wi-Fi for a traveler was a welcome bonus. The hotel is located near several great places to eat, especially Ceno's next door with a great assortment of appetizers and main courses, and comfortable seating in the lounge. The only thing keeping me from rating this as a 5 is that the room was quite warm and we needed to keep the windows cracked to be comfortable at night - but as another reviewer has said, it was quite noisy outside at night! If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly, place to stay that is conveniently located near the University, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanst57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed on a lads weekend in a Single room. Predominately we chose the hotel on price and location. This Hotel offers excellent value for money and has clean and comfortable accommodation. It is looking a bit tired in places but all the basics are in place. The staff where attentive and friendly and the cooked breakfast was one of the nicest i have had. The single rooms are a little small and the hotel has the potential to be very noisy. It is on a busy junction and has a bar underneath it, the hotel also holds functions and the nose does travel. The Hotel is ideally located for the university and has good transport links into Southampton. If you want a good value option then this is the place for you but I recommend taking some earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing