We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast Chaos”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Used this hotel on several occasions pre cruise. Great location and a good stay park and cruise deal including transfers to cruise terminal.
We had a so called "executive room" which looked tired and in need of refurbishment. These are on the higher floors with excellent views over Southampton water.
However the Breakfast experience was truly chaotic with poorly trained staff running around the dining room whilst bemused guests stood in line for long periods waiting to be seated.
Food was average, and that being kind !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Please accept my apologies for the issue you experienced with your dinner service. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    457
    275
    94
    55
See reviews for
219
512
58
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of England - UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package for 1 night and was amazed that I was entitled to a 3 course dinner for the price I had paid. The dinner was excellent (I only managed 2 courses!) and the buffet breakfast was equally good (and hot which is not always the case with buffets). The service was excellent and the staff were attentive and energetic. My room on the 8th floor was clean and bright. The only small criticism I share with others is that the furniture is getting a bit elderly - hence the 4 rather than 5 stars. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comments they are gratefully received and noted. I hope that you will return to the hotel again when next visiting Southampton, if only to sample our new dishes available in the restaurant.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My self and a colleague stayed here mid May for about a week. Both of us are IHG gold/platinum card members. This is one of the better Holiday inns that I have stayed in, the management and staff should be proud of the hotel they are running. The room was modern and clean.
The hotel got very busy at one point due to passengers embarking/disembarking cruises but the staff always thrived to to do their best, especially at the bar!
The only thing that diss appointed me was when I had to return back to Southampton for a second visit 4 days after my first trip, I could not get a room at this hotel so instead had to stay at the Jury's Inn.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingScotsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much. The team here will be delighted that you enjoyed your week here at the Holiday Inn Southampton, I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto them, as they do strive to deliver a Great Guest Experience and I am delighted they did so. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back, I am sorry that we could not accommodate you last time.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Warm welcome by Andy & Kris. Beautiful room, brilliant all round service.
A special thanks to Mellie who informed us of the best places to visit in the city & who kept us laughing all the way through breakfast, which was delicious. With wonderfully poached eggs by Leon. Constant cappuccino's from Kerrie. Their hospitality was great. I'm going back in August & would definitely recommend to anyone xx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback, I am sure Mel will be delighted that she made you feel welcome and you enjoyed not only your visit to the hotel but Southampton too.
I shall look forward to welcoming you back in August.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here after a short cruise. The hotel is in a cracking location and I belive does parking for cruises although we had got the train so not an issue for us. Used the early check in facility which was nice and only £15 extra. They always keep 2 rooms free so if you are off an early morning cruise its worth asking. Great location just 10 mins from the shops and loved the rooms overlooking the river. Ask for a high floor room and you will get a great view. The staff were great as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gashead81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback. I am delighted that your experience here at the Holiday Inn Southampton made for a perfect start to your cruise holiday. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked a Rail and Over Night Stay with Breakfast at The Holiday Inn.
It was perfect when we drew our blinds the next morning we could see our
Ship awaiting us.The Hotel arranged for us to be picked up at the Railway Station
took us to the Hotel,Reception Staff were welcoming and friendly,Room clean and
comfortable,Bar Staff and the Waiting Staff very good.Breakfast was included in the
deal and was excellent.We were driven the short distance to the Ship the next day
and on our return were taken back to the Station.

Room Tip: We asked for a Quiet room and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback, our Stay & Cruise packages are designed to make everything easy for you, from booking to arrival at the hotel to getting you to the ship for your cruise. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stopped over night at the Holiday Inn Southampton. The rooms and view were excellent - the receptionist asked which ship we were on and gave us a room with a big picture window overlooking the ship. All the staff were very friendly and the rooms were excellent and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good - lots of choice. We also parked our car for the duration of the cruise at a very competitive rate. Overall a great experience and recommend the hotel especially if you are cruising. We got a very competitive room rate by searching the internet.

Room Tip: Ask if you have a room facing the cruise terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevieS5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and comments, I will certainly pass these onto the team here, Our Stay & Cruise packages offer great rates and are set up to help make your pre-night cruise perfect in every way.
Look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,692 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing