We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Southampton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Harbour Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Star Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveler rating
308
505
307
107
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
505
307
107
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruise terminalfloor to ceiling windowsseparate buildingpre cruise stayexecutive roommayflower parkreception staffbit datedstayed here for one nightisle of wightfollowing morningbuffet styleself servicetown centregood nights sleepbreakfast was excellentcar parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed for a one night, great location for town centre. Had a room on floor 4, which had a view to the East across the harbour. Rooms clean and tidy though it appears to start looking tired and could do with a lick of paint and a the bathroom could do with an update. Good price so cant complain really. Would stay again. Though it does annoy me that you have to pay a car parking fee when you are staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably have better views across the harbour.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DamionCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the hotel.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities, which we fell short on this occasion. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you be in the area .
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

It's dated but is kept clean and the staff are polite and helpful. Breakfast is average. Prefer the premier inn personally. You might need to ask for things to be fixed such as the plug etc but resolved very quickly. Very good location if traveling from the docks on a cruise

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank baredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback from the recent stay here at the hotel.Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest level of services and facilities. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure that your expectations are met in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked into this hotel for a pre cruise stay. After a 12 hour coach journey arriving at the hotel at 8pm they told us they had double booked and had no rooms left! They sent us to the Dolphin Hotel on the highstreet! Shocking and not how we wanted to start our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations. They took our money, confirmed our booking then didn't deliver. Feel very diss appointed and cheated! The bottle of wine and taxi fare did nothing to compensate!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest. I am very disappointed to read your comments and would offer my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience the move to another hotel caused. Sometimes it is necessary to make such arrangements, it is not something that either myself or the team here take lightly in entering into. Should you be making a journey to this area again for whatever reason, please do contact either myself or my PA personally, where I can make the arrangements, offer a Free upgrade and a favourable rate for you. Once again please accept my apologies and I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We used the excellent cruise and park package to avoid any travel problems. A good move, the next morning Southampton was gridlocked with traffic jams. A very pleasant hotel with wonderful views from our room. Staff were very friendly and helpful and meals were fine. The drop off and collection from the cruise all worked well,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomnBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at the hotel prior to your cruise. I am delighted that your stay here at the Holiday Inn Southampton met with your satisfaction, I will be sure to tell the team, as they do strive to deliver Guest Expectations. Our Stay & Cruise rates are amazing value and trouble free making for a great start to your holiday. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our fourth visit to this hotel was a little disappointing. Previously we have no complaints at all and we can still appreciate the wonderful location, the friendly helpful staff, and the comfort in the rooms. This time however we were particularly disappointed on the first morning with the hot breakfast which was at best tepid and not at all apetising. The following morning we opted for poached eggs on toast which came direct from the chef and were perfect. The cold buffet however, was extensive and very good. Dinner was good but a bit on the expensive side. A major problem was that unfortunately we stayed on one of the worst nights with a gale blowing off the sea and our window in room 604 suddenly developed a loud cracking noise coming from the window opening mechanism with the result that sleep was impossible. We went down to reception at 1am to ask if we could move. The gentleman we saw was extremely helpful and gave us another room on the same floor at the rear of the building. We slept in this room and transferred all our gear the following morning. We will still stay again when in Southampton.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eveankev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear eveankev,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at our hotel again. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the first room you were in and with breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews