We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to cruising holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is right next to the City terminal at Southampton docks. Wake in the morning and if your room overlooks the dock, we always ask for this, you will see your cruise ship.
The rooms are a reasonable size with very comfortable beds. The en suite and bedroom are always perfectly clean. The floor to ceiling windows give you a marvellous view.
The restaurant is very busy but seems to keep up with demand and the food is reasonably priced and plentiful. Breakfasts can be a bit of a rugby scrum and you may have to queue.
The only negative is that the lifts are two small and seem to break down. Many people going cruising use this hotel so have large suitcases and so it can take for ever to get down to the ground floor. It's high time extra more robust lifts were installed. We have gone so far as to sent our luggage ahead so if all else fails we can walk down.
The staff are very friendly and helpful even under pressure.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out over the terminal if going cruising so you can see your ship as soon as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabeltherat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walker R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your pre-cruise stay here at the Holiday Inn Southampton. . Your feedback is important to us, as this allows us to ensure we give a Guest Service that meets with your expectations. For your information, we are having new lifts installed in the new year which should help elevate the issue you experienced during your stay. I hope we ay have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker
Cluster General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

As a Platinum Elite member I stay at a lot of IHG hotels. This HI was very good, I was upgraded, very nice executive room, previous reviews mention tired rooms, mine was fine. Great staff, nice brekkie. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walker R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for supporting the IHG brand and choosing to stay here at the Holiday Inn Southampton. I am delighted that our hotel met your expectations and delivered a great service. I hope that you choose to stay with us again should you be in the Southampton area.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good Location for people with activity with the docks , Average room but clean , Breakfast is fine ,good service , stuff are welcoming and friendly ,room are comfortable and had what is needed for short stay , bathroom is average but clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibrahim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walker R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments posted regarding your recent stay at this hotel. Your feedback is important to this hotel and I am pleased that you were made to feel welcome by the team here and we hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Southampton again in the future.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed in this hotel prior to a recent Med cruise. Booked the hotel via Avios which included breakfast. Excellent location directly located on the docks. We had a room with the cruise terminal view and when we opened the curtains in the morning our cruise ship was almost within touching distance.
Southampton's newish shopping mall is located just across the busy dual carrigeway and the town centre just beyond that.
Service in hotel was excellent. Bar lady from Berwick seemed very happy in her work and nothing seemed too much trouble for her. After retiring from the bar to room found that our bathroom extractor fan would not knock off. Phoned reception at approx 23:30 and within 10 minutes we were moved to another room.
Good choice of breakfast and again the breakfast staff were very accomodating and helpful.
Would definitely use this as our pre-cruise hotel in future.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the cruise terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinhector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walker R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for your great feedback about Holiday Inn Southampton , the cruise package you chose and the ease of location for pre-cruise stay. I will certainly pass your comments onto Janice in the bar she will be delighted she made you feel welcome. I am also delighted you enjoyed breakfast, it is such an important way to start the day. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again prior to your cruise holidays, we will certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've stayed here twice this year for pre cruise stays. Its proximity to the terminal is very good and if you're lucky enough, like we were on our first stay, you can actually walk to your cruise terminal. Rooms are functional and very clean, and the staff helpful and efficient. On our second stay we booked a package for Room, breakfast and parking in advance and got a very good rate by booking in advance. The rate included taxis to and from the cruise terminal.

Room Tip: Book in advance for great savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexUKChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest, Welcome back! I am always delighted to read reviews from returning guests and to hear that your stay was as expected and the team here looked after you. I am pleased that our cruise packages offer you a great choice and make for a great and easy start to your holiday.
On behalf of all of the team here, we sincerely hope that you will return again for a third and fourth time. Thank you again for your great and kind comments.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family in Southampton, the hotel is very good and we had a lovely room overlooking the harbour and cruise ships, the room was extremely clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for a short stay, the staff were efficient and friendly. The location is perfect for shopping and night life in the city centre. We had no complaints and will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for very kind comments about your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time whilst visiting Southampton. I do hope that you will return again in the future and stay with at the Holiday Inn Southampton.
Kind regards
Roberts Walker = Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed just 1 night before a cruise, so the location was perfect. Nice and quiet as well. Room was very dated and tired - nothing more than a Travelodge, really. Food in the restaurant at dinner was delicious, although getting it was painfully slow! OK breakfast. Top marks, however, for the very friendly staff everywhere.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank prippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Southampton. Your notes of concern about the appearance of the hotel has been noted. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast and the staff made you feel very welcome. I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel when your are next taking a cruise.
Kind regards
Robert Walker - Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $94 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing