We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pre-cruise stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel prior to cruising from Southampton. We've latterly stayed at the De Vere Grand Harbour which has gone rather tired & expensive. The Holiday Inn was in an excellent position for our ship which was due to sail from the dock next to the hotel. From our room on the 8th floor we enjoyed a lovely view with large glass windows. The only downfall was due to the sun shining full onto our room. Even with the window open the heat was unbearable. We had to request a portable fan. We stayed here for 2 nights & the evening menu was repeated on the second night, which I assume would be repeated every night. The evening food was ok but typical bar food. Breakfast though was far better. The only plus point was the excellent service from all the staff.

Room Tip: A high level room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Elizabeth E,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. Hence, we are very pleased about your positive feedback on our location and excellent staff services. We regret that you were not satisfied with your room accommodation and dinner menus. Please accept our apologies for this unsatisfactory experience. I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    444
    271
    92
    54
See reviews for
211
501
57
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Heading to a cruise so selected the Holiday Inn based on other reviews. The room was nice, clean and with a good view of the port. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was surprising good for a hotel with excellent service. Front desk was very good with arranging for transport the next day to our ship. Easy walk to town (about two blocks) and other sites.

Room Tip: As for a room either facing the port (we liked ours) or facing non-ship side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New_Yorker_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been to this hotel a few times...even when it was the Post House, and way back when it was owned by Mr Charles Forte. It always has a friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. In recent years, it has had a face lift, and is much more upmarket, although still very much a businessman's stopover during the week, and full of families during the weekend and school hols. If you can get one of their bargain break weekends, you can get a good deal, but they go quick.
This time we were in town for a gig at the Guildhall, and as usual our room was clean and comfortable. We didn't really spend much time in the room, wanting to hit the shops and have a look round, as the weather was lovely. Next morning's breakfast, although it is now buffet style these days, was plentiful and fresh.
Another great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBrighton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our cruise with a package that included taxi transfer to and from the ship and car parking for 8 nights. Everything was brilliant and went smoothly. West Quay taxis provided the service via Hol Inn and the drivers were excellent. Our room at the hotel had sea view, but I hadn't expected it to be as good as it was! A large picture window overlooking the docks, with 2 arm chairs ( take the binoculars!) I even lay in bed watching the ships come in the next morning. It really started the cruise off well. The only thing that was not excellent (although it could not be described as bad) was breakfast. The staff were not working as a team, and the food wasn't as hot as my husband would have liked; that said, the choice and quality was very good and the staff were cheerful. My initial booking with holiday Inn had some hiccups (my fault and too complicated to explain) and I spoke to their customer service dept who were exceptionally polite and helpful. Well done Holiday Inn, and thanks for getting our hol off to a fab start!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here overnight before our cruise - the location is ideal as it's next door to the gate we had to use. The staff on Reception were very helpful and check in was quick and efficient. Our room had a great view and was large and clean. We ate in the bar and the food was really nice and the staff were quick and helpful. It's very close to West Quay shopping centre, with lots more choice of restaurants if you wanted.

We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

nicely located and always good helpful staff, rooms basic but always clean and quiet, food always a good standard with great service. close to town, easy walking distance. restaurant is a good place if you want a simple meal

Room Tip: higher floors are better as less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayneanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn as a quick stop-over on the way somewhere else. It was a great base for the day/night.

Primary reason is that it's in a great location; very good for shopping, plenty of places to eat around the area and not too difficult to get to by car - if you're on a cruise, I imagine it's perfect.

Rooms were very clean, bed comfortable and the nice big windows gave plenty of light and also a great view of the cruise ships!

Breakfast was good and plentiful - no complaints. It's a buffet style, help yourself affair, but it was tasty and the staff very friendly. In fact all the staff we encountered were really friendly and a massive credit to the hotel.

My only slight negative would be the communal areas aren't particularly amazing. The breakfast area feels like a canteen and the bar area is just too small and a bit hotel clone - i.e. it could be anywhere.

But we had a good stay overall - no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HantsTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing