We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
swindon south staffs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cg”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

stayed just one night, 20th april ,freindly reception staff, room was light,spaciouse,and clean,breakfast was good / plenty , swimming pool enjoyable ,only downfall was the car parking charges being £7 per day
overall good value,would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank co_sha2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    439
    266
    90
    52
See reviews for
205
493
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good basic accommodation and very convenient for cruise terminals. Hotel is next to Enterprise car hire so it's very handy for a one way hire prior to a cruise. Room was clean and well equipped. Check in and check out were very speedy and reception staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear B P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are truly delighted you found our location and our staff highly commendable.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Don't be put off by the somewhat austere, slightly tired exterior, this is a comfortable, well fitted out hotel with rooms on the higher floors offering excellent views over the solent, Southampton Water and the town itself. Conveniently location for the city centre, the hotel has a swimming pool and the rooms are comfortable, air conditioned and spacious. The best thing about the hotel though is its staff. They are very cheerful, welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Go high! Pick a room on the higher floors. Every time I've stayed here the staff have asked me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGFFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerious times, they was accomodating, friendly and very very fairly priced! the food was delicious. Furniture was very comfy to lounge in when relacing and the beds were perfect. any fault we has was dealt with quickly and professionally

Room Tip: rooms facing the pier are quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Herbert Walker Avenue Southampton for a weekend break from Friday 9th - Sunday 14th April, collecting family arriving on 14th after their 6 week cruise from Sydney.
Our executive room overlooking the cruise terminal and Red Funnel Ferry port was very nice, maybe slightly tired decor wise but very comfortable.
The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help.
Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice (including the make yourself pancake machine).
The position of the hotel was excellent for cruise terminals, port and only a short walk to West Key shopping complex and the town centre.
The onsite swimming pool was perfectly clean with lovely water temperature.
Car parking onsite at £7 a day maybe a little steep, but not far out of line with other hotels in the area.
Overall our stay was superb and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any high front room giving great view over Southampton Water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisMargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We travel around the UK delivering training (a lot) and use IHG hotels most of the time.

This hotel is the best one we go to.

It's as simple as that really.

Great staff, good facilities, a clean, comfortable room and a truly excellent meal - I don't often eat fish (especially when steak is available) but the smoked haddock, served by the Chef was outstanding.

That's not to say the other IHG hotels we use aren't good - they are - but there is something special about this one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank awp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night for a nearby conference and was forced to take the last available room in the hotel - an 'Executive Room': 815. B&B rate: £197 for a tiny room overlooking the docks - photo attached. The room was vastly overpriced and there was very little to set it apart as 'Executive'.

Otherwise clean and functional with an unremarkable breakfast. Not for romantic getaways!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ChuckG2011,

We would like to thank you for your review. We apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations.

The hotel management and ownership determine their own rates and cancellation policies in accordance with local demand and business needs. The hotels set their rates to be competitive in the market they serve. We are pleased you were able to locate a room in short notice for your conference.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing