We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food - and slimming friendly!”
Review of Jewels

Jewels
Ranked #48 of 852 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb food - and slimming friendly!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I visited "Jewels" to celebrate my Dad's birthday this evening. We have visited this restaurant before and always been pleased with everything.

Today was no different at all ... and, for myself personally, it was excellent. I have been on Slimming World for nearly a year now so going for a curry night is always a tricky proposition. However, "Jewels" have taken this into account and created a Healthy Options Menu, whereby many of the normal items on the menu are cooked in such a way that they are Slimming World friendly.

Absolutely BRILLIANT!!! What a fantastic idea and it allowed me to enjoy my meal, have a good feed without feeling I was putting my weight loss effort in jeopardy and no feel left out from the rest of the family's choices. Not only that, but the food was superbly tasty as well - sometimes slimming stuff can be a bit tasteless - but not here. Superb food, friendly staff and a great evening for my Dad.

I would highly recommend this restaurant, whether you are losing weight or not. If you are losing it, like myself, then what a perfect place to go without feeling guilty.

I have already told my Slimming World group ... "Jewels" deserve the publicity for this consideration of those who want to keep on track.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernSoftie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    43
    24
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton,England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food - ideal for slimmers”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant and the food and service was the best i have experienced in a long time.
They have a healthy option menu which is great if your on a slimming plan without detracting from the taste.
It also ideal for special events(birthdays,anniversaries,stag/hen nights etc) with the staff adding to the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank griffon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

when we arrived the staff were really nice & polite. We were seated within a few minutes. The food is really nice and the atmosphere is really nice as well. I would recommend Jewels.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJOxford2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food at Jewels is wonderful, but a good restaurant is more than food. it's friendly and attentive staff and atmosphere too.

At Jewels they don't take your main course order until you have finished your appetizer, so you have plenty of time to talk and digest your food before the next course arrives. Don't you just hate it when you get halfway through your appetizer and more plates arrive before you are ready!

The buffet menu has plenty of options, the Dansak being "just right" and the Jalfrezi being good and spicy, but not too spicy.

We highly recommend Jewels, and they open early now too, perfect for when you come home from work and fancy a quiet meal before they get really busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Healthy Curry”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great staff and lovely food that you can request to be made without the ghee and oil. Great for those following a healthy eating plan. You can even get baked poppadums! Highly recommended and great place for large groups. The food is always great and the staff incredibly welcoming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewels also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Jewels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing