We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
115
108
67
48
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
108
67
48
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel lodgebreakfast boxbusy junctioncity centrecar parkroom was cleanmain roadminutes walk awaysingle rooman overnight stayone night staycooked breakfastcomfortable stayshort stayreception staffdockuniversity
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 378 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful....

Very hot in the corridor leading to the rooms , marginally cooler inside room as curtains were drawn with a portable fan left running.
At lights out!! I was unable too reach the bedside light switches easily and had to put on foot out of the the bed.
The window was open all night due to the heat but as the room was at the front of the hotel which meant we were exposed to the traffic noise in the early hours. Disturbed sleep due to two noisy individuals smoking/ speaking outside the hotel main access door 05:00hrs, at this point the window was closed and our mind was made up if we ever to visit Southampton in the future.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Tourist6736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Southampton Travelodge.

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay.

May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Chose this hotel as it was close to my son's new flat and we were helping him move in. I have stayed at Travelodge's numerous times over many years and whilst not expecting luxury expected basic but clean and adequate.

It was a warm day and we were advised on arrival that they had made every effort to keep the room cool. When we arrived in the room, the curtains were drawn, windows open and a fan on full blast. They had done all they could do in that respect.

We were simply dumping the bags at this point as we were going out for dinner, however on visiting the bathroom before leaving my observations were not great. The floor was dirty, particularly around the edges, the door was dusty and the toilet roll holder had dust caked on it, not be cleaned for some time. On leaving the room I also noted that the carpet was badly stained.

My eyes were now open, the lift was the next horror, equally as dirty as the bathroom.

Evening done, back to the room, sat on the bed. The mattress was on it's way out and collapsing towards the middle. The hard edges of the mattress dug into my legs and it was painful to sit on it. I then noted that the skirting boards were dirty as were the inside of the windows and window ledge.

It was late so we made do, with the intention of bringing up in the morning.

Having a bath in the morning, there was a piece of poorly cut rubber stuck to the bottom of the bath. My husband accidently knocked the soap dispenser and was horrified at the muck and dirt revealed. There was also no bath mat which made the floor very slippery and dangerous.

My bad experience is probably making me more critical than I normally would be. There were only two power points, needed by the kettle and fan. Nothing near the bed for charging phones etc.

Sleeping was ok. They had removed the duvet, leaving a tired sheet for coolness. Sleep was poor due to the windows being open, but that was just one of those things due to the weather.

On leaving, we tried to raise our concerns but no-one was about. We dropped our key in the slot and left, noticing the "Fresh New Look LING SIZED COMFORT" poster outside. Misleading, I would suggest as this hotel has not been refreshed in a long time. We also noted a sign stating "Cleaners Wanted" - the most accurate statement so far!

This was not a cheap stay. It cost £119 for the one night.

Disappointed because the location was convenient, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beccy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Charley from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Southampton.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard.
For future reference we would always advise speaking to a member of staff as soon as any problems occur as these issues may be able to be rectified.

We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves.

May we thank you again for your feedback and hope you stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

We stayed for a couple of nights, we had booked in advance and got the room for a reasonable price. On arrival the receptionist informed us that the rooms were very warm however there was a fan in the room and the curtains had been drawn to block out the sun..... she was not wrong the room was extremely hot and all the fan did was blow the hot air around the room. The room was clean and tidy and plenty big enough for the three of us. There was not enough tea and coffee in the room so we had to go to reception to request more.
The hotel is a short walk to the city centre. There are many homeless people in Southampton, we were approached on numerous occasions by people begging for money.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rwwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Generally the hotel is fine, Travelodge now offers good beds just don't stay when it has been hot during the day.

Unfortunately for us it had been a hot day and the room had got unbearably hot. The room was far hotter than the outside temperature.

The check-in staff tried to justify what they had done to cool the room, obviously this is a known issue in this hotel.

The fan just was not a benefit as it did not move any air, the windows have limited opening I assume for health & safety reasons even though they are 5 feet off the ground. Saying that the hotel is on a main road so there is traffic noise over night meaning you either roast in the room or cannot sleep due to the noise!

We had the fan on, all windows open and was still roasted with no sleep!

Travelodge are also aware of the problem as they provide printed cards explaining the issue but they are not doing anything to solve it.

I have had to speak to the head office complaints team who did their best to compensate us and we did end up coming to an agreement.

I would use this hotel again but maybe not in the summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thank you for reviewing our Southampton Travelodge.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was hindered by the lack of air conditioning.

We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good night’s sleep.

Travelodge is a budget chain so not all of our hotels have air conditioning facilities.

Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

No air condition room extremly hot
Fan provided.Sleepless night due to having to have windows open all night!
Room clean.Bathroom clean good shower
Comfortable bed good pillows
Easy parking
Tea and coffee making facilities

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank sarahmacmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Tilly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Southampton hotel.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was spoiled by the lack of airconditioning. We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good night’s sleep.

We are pleased to hear that the remainder of your stay was good.


We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews