We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
121
119
71
53
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
119
71
53
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel lodge breakfast box car park city centre room was clean main road a lot of noise short stay one night stay double bed an overnight stay boat show family room reception staff wetherspoons dock university
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 406 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Generally the hotel is fine, Travelodge now offers good beds just don't stay when it has been hot during the day.

Unfortunately for us it had been a hot day and the room had got unbearably hot. The room was far hotter than the outside temperature.

The check-in staff tried to justify what they had done to cool the room, obviously this is a known issue in this hotel.

The fan just was not a benefit as it did not move any air, the windows have limited opening I assume for health & safety reasons even though they are 5 feet off the ground. Saying that the hotel is on a main road so there is traffic noise over night meaning you either roast in the room or cannot sleep due to the noise!

We had the fan on, all windows open and was still roasted with no sleep!

Travelodge are also aware of the problem as they provide printed cards explaining the issue but they are not doing anything to solve it.

I have had to speak to the head office complaints team who did their best to compensate us and we did end up coming to an agreement.

I would use this hotel again but maybe not in the summertime.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thank you for reviewing our Southampton Travelodge.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was hindered by the lack of air conditioning.

We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good night’s sleep.

Travelodge is a budget chain so not all of our hotels have air conditioning facilities.

Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

No air condition room extremly hot
Fan provided.Sleepless night due to having to have windows open all night!
Room clean.Bathroom clean good shower
Comfortable bed good pillows
Easy parking
Tea and coffee making facilities

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank sarahmacmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Tilly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Southampton hotel.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was spoiled by the lack of airconditioning. We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good night’s sleep.

We are pleased to hear that the remainder of your stay was good.


We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in 2013 en route to the cruise terminal. The last time we stayed we thought it was in urgent need of a make over. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel has had an overhaul and the facilities are much improved, that is except for our bathroom light which wasn’t working and the bathroom flooring that was peeling away from the wall!

We received the warmest and friendliest welcome from the receptionist upon arrival so topmarks to her and management, if you have a staff recognition awards scheme please take note.

We decided to travel down the day before to avoid any delays and boy are we glad that we did! The traffic queues to Southampton via the main arteries were horrendous particularly around the city of Oxford and if we’d travelled down on the day of embarkation I’m sure we’d have probably missed the ship!

So if you’re looking for reasonably priced accommodation with parking facilities then I’d recommend this hotel. However it’s a very noisy hotel as it’s situated on the A33 leading towards the dock. There was constant traffic noise throughout the night and little sleep was had by all!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Charley from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

We're pleased to learn you had a comfortable stay recently at our Southampton Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your stay with us.


We would like to apologise for the noise experienced for your stay. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do provide double glazing and we try to work with the local areas and communities. It is regrettable to hear this was not enough to guarantee a good night stay for you.

We will be sure to pass your kind comments to the hotel and we do hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Our room was clean, tidy and spacious. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. For event on Southampton Common the location was ideal and still walkable to town. The room was quite hot due to the heatwave we're experiencing at the moment but there was a fan in the room which gave enough relief :)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank laurajwelchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Stopped for Let's Rock Southampton, so picked for ideal location. Yes slightly outdated but room was clean. No air con but fan in the room and the blackout curtains had been kept closed through the day for us. But I have given full marks as it is a long time I have stayed anywhere where I have had GENUINE customer service from all 3 members of staff I encountered. We arrived midday to find a full car park but straight away a member of staff informed us she was going to move her car for us. Jazz on reception kept check-in quick and efficient knowing we were keen to get to the concert, and along with the night staff couldn't of been more friendly and helpful. Been in customer service for years and this would of been a 100% score for a mystery shop !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Rustietinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews