We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Southampton
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked this as a one night stop over for a trip to the theatre. We are familiar with Travelodge as we often use it for cheap, comfortable nights away. We chose this one based on its recent refurbishment of the rooms.
Parking was easy with plenty of spaces available on the premises at only £3.00 for 24 hours.
We were greeted warmly and let into our room promptly. Once in we were not disappointed with what we saw.
The only issue became apparent later when the weather turned rainy and windy and felt a breeze coming into the room from around the window frames. Upon further inspection we noticed that the window sill was very loose and the windows themselves had old style aluminium surrounds with its original double glazing and as such was not very energy efficient. Clearly this did not form not part of the refurbishment. This also made the rain sound very noisy against the glass which did slightly disturb our nights sleep.
Other than this one issue we were very happy with all parts of the accommodation and service.
We will definitely book with Travelodge again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms as there are many rooms in this particular Travel...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 306 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

I use Travelodge several times a year and this was the first visit to a refurbished site. The room was clean, bright and welcoming. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a window, unusual but welcome, and was very well presented.
Good Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 and it was clean, tidy, nicely refurbished and extremely cheap compared to other places in the area. Yes it's a bit basic but when you're getting such a bargain what so you expect?! It does the job and is in a great location and the staff were helpful and polite. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emali87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a really good stay and even though a budget hotel the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The room was very clean and well presented and staff very helpful. They must work hard as there was a definite need for the refurbishment and we are looking forward to our next visit when update has been completed. Thanks to all the staff for making our short stay enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rwj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had to stay here in January as the city was full with people staying before their cruises, when I arrived I thought I was at a block of flats.

The one star is for the staff who we're friendly but that's where the positives end. I asked about dinner and was told the hotel next door does good food. In the end I went to dominos across the road.

The food was supposedly refurbished but I am not convinced. The walls are also so thin I felt I was in a pre fab 1970's flat

Overall I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huttonjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A very clean hotel newly updated rooms very comfortable would stay there again close to the centre of Southampton good parking at reasonable rates
staff very helpful reasonable rates if you book early

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Does exactly what is says on the tin, cheap and cheerful. Not a pleasant exterior and very basic service. Location not too bad, only a short walk from the town centre. In essence it is a place to lay your head

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calsbells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southampton

Address: 144 Lodge Road, Southampton SO14 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $62 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southampton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing