We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
North East UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

Overall this is an excellent, inexpensive hotel, well located for the City Centre and easy to reach by car. What was good - the breakfast is the best I have had at a hotel for a long time, the rooms were large, clean and comfortable, the staff were excellent and they looked after my car while I went on a cruise. What was less than good - the shower in the room was erratic (staff informed), the bedding could do with being more modern (ie continental quilts rather than blankets and as heavy eiderdown), Lizzies restaurant was poor. We loved staying there and would certainly do so agin.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank intutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    141
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
87
125
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in May 2007. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was served in a nice dining room and was very tasty. Great value for money and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SandANorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

The room was comfortable and spacious, the en-suite bathroom was clean and the water was hot and in good supply. Our two-night stay at Elizabeth House was better than the rather downbeat hotel website suggested it would be. The service was prompt and friendly and the hotel functional (free Wi-Fi internet a definite plus). It's just what one would expect from a two-star hotel. The carpet on the stairs is a little threadbare here and there and there is the feel about of a guest house rather than a hotel. However during a wet weekend in Southampton these were not things to worry about and the replenishment of the tea/coffee/biscuits in the room each day was much more important and very welcome. In sum, a straightforward place, but one which could present itself better to would be customers through its own website.
Elizabeth House is a brisk 20-25 minute walk from Southampton city centre, but its location is very well served by regular public transport to and from the city centre and the central railway station.
From what we could see there was a lack of small shops nearby for mineral water/snacks and that sort of thing, but there are a few take-aways and small restaurants across the road.
Would definitely stay at Elizabeth House again if in Southampton, it is basic, but comfortable and well-run, with management and staff always available if required. Not a bad place at all.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry_Callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2005

I booked this hotel based on the reviews from this website. it was ok but not an exceptional place. The owners and staff were exceptionally nice and helpful and the rooms were a nice size, but it was average in cleanliness and the restaurant was also average. The linens were a bit worn and the furniture is older and not of great quality. the garden in the back was pleasant and the meeting facilities were comfortable.

Unless you don't mind a 1/2 hour walk, it is not close to the center city or the university. It is close to the common (park). We used busses to get around as we did not have a automobile with us. It is located on a main road so buses are frequent but the traffic was noisy.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in March 2005 and were very pleased with the whole experience. The staff were well trained helpful and efficient, not at all intrusive - allowed us to check in early and stored our bags after checking out - also allowing us to use the facilities.

The rooms and public areas were always clean and tidy, the breakfast was good and the service very efficient - allowing you to have exactly what you wanted. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. A credit to the owner.

Our friend stayed in a single room and was delighted with the size and facilities.

Their website does not do it justice - it needs a re-vamp with better pictures of this lovely hotel

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank min.smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2004

We stayed here, most recently, in October 2004 for two days . Its a well run family hotel with spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, simple but satisfactory dinner menu and good location. If you want to compare it with a rather boring, standard chain hotel, there's a Travel Lodge next door! Nothing wrong with the Travel Lodge, we've stayed there too but its not in same class although about the same price.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CliffWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2004

We stayed there for 4 nights and I was very surprised. There were nice spaceful rooms with comfortable a bed and a nice clear bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast excellent. Although it was on a busy road the backrooms are very quiet. Very good hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Property: Elizabeth House Hotel
Address: 43-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing