We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY EFFICIENT, PLEASANT, TRADITIONAL, FAMILY RUN HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“VERY EFFICIENT, PLEASANT, TRADITIONAL, FAMILY RUN HOTEL”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night before our cruise and also left our car here for a week. We were greeted on arrival and efficiently checked in. Our room was at the back of the hotel and although very clean and had tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen t.v., it was a little tired around the edges but as it is a two star hotel, it is absolutely fine. The bed was very clean and comfortable and of a good size. Plenty of hot water. The one thing that let the room down was the fact that every step taken, the floor creaked big time. The owner apologised when I mentioned it but I would imagine it would be expensive to fix and thats why it hasnt been done. The room was very quiet - would be concerned if I had a front bedroom as its on a very busy main road. However, this is also a benefit as the hotel is very easy to find. The breakfast was exceptional - nothing was too much trouble - plenty of everything and as soon as you have finished, your things were taken away. Very friendly and efficient staff. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batterseadogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    143
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
127
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here on the Saturday 3rd May and our room was ready early for which was great.We stay and leave our car for the duration of a cruise which is usually 3 weeks but was only 4 days this time.We found a space at the front and this was ok for the duration. Brett the owner is very welcoming as was the receptionist we dealt with.We had a lovely ground floor room No 32 in the adjacent building to the main hotel.The rooms in this building have recently been refurbished and are superb,we will ask for this again.We had a good breakfast which was everything you could wish for,freshly cooked and good quality ingredients.We are retired hoteliers so you have expectations and the Elizabeth House Hotel fulfills in every way.On our return the receptionist was out as soon as the taxi arrived outside to welcome us back.Would certainly recommend especially for cruise stay and park.

Room Tip: No 31 and 32 are very good and also rooms in main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank painos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Very warm welcome. Lovely meal in the bar when we arrived and a great breakfast in the morning. Room spotless and very comfy. Personal preference would be to have net curtains as they are very large windows and felt a bit like a goldfish bowl in the ground floor room. Had to keep the heavy curtains closed to get ready in the morning.
Would recommend staying here. Very good location for the cruise docks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the Easter weekend with a party of 5 adults and 2 kids after a busy day at Paultons Park. Everyone had a good night, the rooms were of a good size and the hotel had all we needed for a good rest, including a cot for the little one. Breakfast also very good at made to order.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Thank you to everone at the Elizabeth hotel Southampton, what a lovely stay the room was clean and well kept, we are three sisters who attended our nephews wedding, we had a family room with 1 double bed 1 single and a put u up, brilliant, the breakfast was ample and the staff we pleasent, and very helpful. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Staff are always pleasant and courteous.
Rooms are fine, comfortable, well maintained and clean
Location is good for the University, Town Centre, and the Common
Splendid breakfast included in room price. Special note - these people know how to poach eggs - even so called major hotels get this wrong.
They even cater for guests who have a dog.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick13658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fab little place. Clean, comfy and lovely helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again if in the area and would recommend. The one and only downside for us was the food in Lizzie's which seemed to be mainly heated up straight from the freezer rather than homemade, and every dish (even the curry) is served with a huge dollop of coleslaw! Very close to Southampton Common and around a 15/20 minute walk into the town. Overall very good value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Property: Elizabeth House Hotel
Address: 43-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing