We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Very clean & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Elizabeth House Hotel when visiting my daughter at Uni. It was very conveniently situated. Our room was very clean and comfortable. There was a good choice for breakfast and the hotel staff were very professional and attentive. Whilst parking is a bit tight, the staff will go to all lengths to ensure you have a space.

Room Tip: Probably at the side or back as the road is busy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Elizabeth House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We last stayed here in October 2012 and thought it was excellent value for money so we stayed here again the night before going on a cruise. We had recommended it to our friends that we were travelling with and they were so impressed they are going to book it again when they next cruise. The rooms are lovely and clean, the towels are white and fluffy and the breakfast is excellent. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms at the front can be quite noisy as it's on a main road so ask for a room at...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueR789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, pre and post cruise out of Southampton.
Very hospitable owners and excellent full English breakfast.
Large rooms with comfortable beds.
Floor boards a little creaky at times but is is an old building.
Would we stay here again? Yes, without a doubt.
Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPMNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I usually stay in chain hotels on business, however the room rates were good and the hotel got a good write up on other booking websites.

This is an old style family run hotel. Do not expect the corporate swish, decor and business like manner. You also need to bear in mind it is a 2* and to compare it to the aforementioned would be unfair of its current designation.

When checking in the main hotel smelled like boiling cabbage (remember how your grannys used to smell when she had her dinner for lunch?) glad to say when I went back in at breakfast the next day it didn't smell. Was a little off putting on arrival though!

The lady on reception was brusque (not rude) and showed me to my room which was actually in the house next door and not the main hotel.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the duvet snuggly and it was quiet and dark, always good for sleeping. Free fast wi-fi for working, free parking, plenty of hot water and a good size flat screen TV.

Downsides? The kettle was furred up so I really didn't want to make myself a brew, the hotel is not in the nicest area of Southampton, the room was a little tired in places and in a 4* would have been reason for complaint. The pillows were flat and uncomfortable.

The breakfast uses good quality ingredients with generous servings and the staff are professional and pleasant.

All in all a pleasant enough stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afletcher30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped here for a pre-cruise stay and left the car. We found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. Very good value for money and we would definitely stop there again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 190729Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Usually we prefer to stay in chain hotels. Feel more comfortable knowing exactly what you're getting. However all were full so went for the Elizabeth House and hoped for the best as it had good reviews on TA. Good points: Free wifi with a decent speed, breakfast included, free parking. Bad points: Noisy from bar across the road, noisy corridors, no hand shower in bathroom, very small room and the breakfast room poorly designed so the poor souls like us who had the misfortune to be seated right area where the toast was made and the coffee prepared felt like we were in the middle of Piccadilly Circus! The breakfast was ok but greasy. Service indifferent. Was passable for the night but, sorry, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the main road. There is a bar opposite with very loud music.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have just stayed 3 nights whilst visiting family. Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Plenty of choice at breakfast and cooked food arrived piping hot. Good standard of decoration and all areas very clean. Room 16 was at the front of the building, facing the main road, but the traffic did not interrupt our sleep. It was quite warm and we were able to open the windows. Our room was very nicely decorated. Modern bathroom, spotlessly clean with endless supply of hot water. Good location on one of the main arteries into the city. We had a very comfortable stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Can't understand why it only has 2 stars......have stayed in 4* hotels that were not as nice as this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
940 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 25 in Southampton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Address: 42-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $125 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing