We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money, and a very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good value for money, and a very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a busy working trip and had a lovely relaxing stay. The room (14) was great, very comfy bed and a very clean and modern bathroom. It was a very good breakfast with plenty of choice of cooked & continental. The staff were really friendly & helpful. We should have asked for a fan in the room as it was sooo hot due to the very warm weather we've been having. But I would definitely stay here again. Free parking was a bonus in the hotel's car park as so many hotels charge these days!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    143
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
127
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't expecting much as we usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels, but pleasantly surprised. Very friendly staff, car parking free while we're on our cruise (13 nights), luggage kept on ground floor for us to save taking it upstairs. Nice big room, spotlessly clean. Only negatives are how hot the room was, and the bed - felt comfortable at first, but woke up aching. To be fair, we have a waterbed at home, so maybe a bit unfair...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helsibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have stayed in Southampton many times bit this was my first time using this hotel, I can state quite categorically that it won't be my last. Our room was lovely, spacious and very clean, as was the en suite bathroom. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We did not eat in the hotel but popped into the bar for a drink in the evening. It was a lovely balmy night and we chose to have out drinks in the beautiful garden. Parking was free and a space guaranteed, a nice feature as we had been out all day and arrived late to park. Good Internet access, nice lounge area with magazines supplied to read and close to all amenities. Breakfast was excellent, with a nice choice of hot and cold food available. Again the staff were excellent and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. My only gripe is that it would have been nice to have a fridge in the room to have a chilled drink on what was the hottest day of the year so far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed one night per cruise on one of the hottest weekends. Room was hot but a fan was supplied on request. We ate in the bistro, generous portions, presentation could be looked at my son had a curry with salad on the plate and my chilli was piled on top of the salad. Breakfast was very good. We left our car safely for duration of the cruise.

Room Tip: Our room was just off reception at the back of he hotel, we did hear the owners dog barking in their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have used this hotel on many occasions prior to going on cruises, Always get a nice welcome and good service. Also a pleasant "safe" feeling hotel for a single female traveller.

Staff have always looked after us well.

Nice restaurant over road if you don't want to eat in hotel,

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter due to main road location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queencruiser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for our daughter's Graduation Day at Southampton University. The hotel was fantastic, our triple room was clean and comfortable with a lovely sized bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely brilliant, everything you could wish for and excellent quality food. The staff were more than helpful and the gentlemen waiters were so very polite and their service they provided in the restaurant was first class. The staff kindly allowed us to leave our car in their car park whilst we attended our daughter's graduation this enabling us to book a taxi to and from the University and not having to worry about trying to park the car, which would have been impossible with the amount of students graduating. We would absolutely book this hotel in the future and strongly recommend to anybody wishing to stay in Southampton. All in all fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopseyTurvey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

An ideal location for our visit. The family room was well set out with a double and two full size single beds. First hotel I've been to that we didn't have to ask for the fourth towel. Breakfast was outstanding. Will definitely book in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wincups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Property: Elizabeth House Hotel
Address: 43-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing