We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for lunch”
Review of CXO Bar & Bistro

CXO Bar & Bistro
Ranked #15 of 850 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: CXO Bar&Bistro is situated just 2 minutes' walk from the Mayflower Theatre, right in the heart of Southampton. A modern continental bistro and bar that specialises in PRE-THEATRE dining and BREAKFAST, it has a vibrant atmosphere while still maintaining an intimate nature. It's suitable for after work drinks, pre-theatre meals, and get-togethers with friends or colleagues, as well as that special meal for two. We are situated very close to the north exit of Southampton train station, we also are the closest licensed bar to it, we offer the perfect destination to wine and dine or just to sit back and relax and unwind before a visit to the theatre, a trip by train or a week-end away with friends.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Some friends and I decided to meet up in Southampton for lunch and chose Caffexpresso based on the good reviews here. It's very handy for Central station (two minutes walk) and, although it's not in the most illustrious of surroundings, the bistro itself is light and colourful with a lovely atmosphere. I had phoned the night before and booked a table on the advice of the owner - the place was packed betwwen half twelve to just after two so I'm glad we did! service was great, friendly staff who don't pressure you - we were there for about 2.5 hours and this wasn't a problem. The food was well cooked and tasty, and the coffee is excellent! I'll defintely eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    46
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food served by lovely staff”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Visited on a very busy Saturday lunchtime and we were lucky to get the last table where we - hubby, daughter and me - enjoyed a nicely presented and well cooked meal. The service was excellent and the price very reasonable. We will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a decent little cafe/bistro with good friendly service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

my wife and i decided to pay this place a visit just before we saw The Mousetrap at the Mayflower. it is ideally placed - just a few hundred yards from the theatre. there was friendly and efficient service and although we only needed something quick and easy - it was no problem. the prices are very reasonable and we would certainly use this one again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobwinmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely little bistro”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dined pre matinee theatre performance on 8/11/12.
A small bistro, just across the road from the railway station; set in a rather unattractive building, but well worth the visit.
Because this is a very popular place and just around the corner from Mayflower Theatre, I booked a table for two at 12:15.
We ate a chicken pasta dish, home-made burger and chips, one glass of wine and coke, all excellent. Although very busy, the waitresses were friendly, helpful and coped with the crowd’s very well. Total cost £20!
They also sell coffee and delicious looking cakes, which we will be going back to try some day! Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trude28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe and great eggs benedict!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here when train was delayed by an hour on a Thursday morning. Ordered latte and eggs benedict. Great service and chilled out atmosphere. Both coffee and eggs benedict lovely with cool Joseph Joseph salt and pepper grinder (it's the little things...).
Definitely recommend!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShivyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CXO Bar & Bistro also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to CXO Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing