We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

On arriving at the hotel I found that there was a first come first served basis car park then while we went to check I had to pay another 2 nights parking not happy as this was not mentioned when I booked. We went to the room which was number 8 when I opened the door I saw 2 king size beds I thought this is a superior room when I googled this it had a sofa and chair and a big tv well back to the room the curtains were dirty cob webs all round a tap shower which stunk of mould big cracks down the wall heater in the shower was broken toilet wouldn't flush properly and no anti slip matt in the bath now to the sleeping 1st bed had a wheel which was missing so that meant the bed had a slop then the 2nd bed had a divan base higher then the other so you slept with your bottom half higher then the tv which was a 19 inch flat screen ridiculous you couldn't read the channels without being up to it .as for the carpets they just need a could deep clean and a decent hoover the hole place needs to come into the 20th century will not be staying here again I've been in better for less money and where you get a breakfast included I mean 6.95 and its not all you can eat

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank scatman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 500 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The room were filthy with stains on the bedding.
The bathroom was covered in mould and these are the good things about this place.
Avoid at all costs, it's not that cheap and they have the cheek to charge you for parking.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Mattlloyd2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed one night to avoid paying taxi prices out of town. For £42 we knew to expect something basic. On the negative it is shabby especially in the common areas and no toiletries in the room (we didn't expect them).

But on the positive - great location centre of Southampton, staff very polite, big room (number 47), comfy bed and pillows, clean, large shower with plenty of hot water, large towels and tea/coffee making facilities including mugs! And secure parking. It served its purpose and we would def use again for this reason.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A lovely hotel in a good position for sight seeing, the rooms are comfortable, we as a group did not eat there as we were only staying as the lack of night ferries to the isle of wight. this hotel needs an upgrade after this I would think it would be a top draw hotel, however good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Third stay had the same room as last time. Two large beds so we both had a very good night sleep. Bathroom spotless. Few stains on carpet but in a old hotel to be expected. Perfect breakfast buffet even had fried bread! Staff very friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank da225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Shortly after arriving in Southampton, I got to the Star Hotel, which lies at a location close to the main shopping centers.
The staff was friendly in helping me.

The room I stayed in was basic, but certainly good enough for a short stay.
Everything was clean, the TV functioned well and there was a water heater in the room, with everything you need to make instant coffee.

I've heard it being said that the hotel could use a renovation, and I have to agree with that at least partially.
Still, the state of the hotel is very much good enough for a short stay in Southampton, and it has its location and its staff going for it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VRomeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is in need of refurbishment but it was clean and comfortable and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good:tasty, hot and plentiful. We had 2 good nights' sleep though the room was small and the bathroom basic with just 2 very small bars of soap. If you're looking for luxury, or even decent paintwork, then The Star is not for you. However, it is well located for the Quay and the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayneR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#25 of 25 in Southampton
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $50 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing