We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but clean”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Southampton
Level Contributor
263 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Cheap but clean”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night to avoid paying taxi prices out of town. For £42 we knew to expect something basic. On the negative it is shabby especially in the common areas and no toiletries in the room (we didn't expect them).

But on the positive - great location centre of Southampton, staff very polite, big room (number 47), comfy bed and pillows, clean, large shower with plenty of hot water, large towels and tea/coffee making facilities including mugs! And secure parking. It served its purpose and we would def use again for this reason.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    98
    103
    96
    113
See reviews for
49
173
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newchurch IOW,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A lovely hotel in a good position for sight seeing, the rooms are comfortable, we as a group did not eat there as we were only staying as the lack of night ferries to the isle of wight. this hotel needs an upgrade after this I would think it would be a top draw hotel, however good value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Third stay had the same room as last time. Two large beds so we both had a very good night sleep. Bathroom spotless. Few stains on carpet but in a old hotel to be expected. Perfect breakfast buffet even had fried bread! Staff very friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank da225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Shortly after arriving in Southampton, I got to the Star Hotel, which lies at a location close to the main shopping centers.
The staff was friendly in helping me.

The room I stayed in was basic, but certainly good enough for a short stay.
Everything was clean, the TV functioned well and there was a water heater in the room, with everything you need to make instant coffee.

I've heard it being said that the hotel could use a renovation, and I have to agree with that at least partially.
Still, the state of the hotel is very much good enough for a short stay in Southampton, and it has its location and its staff going for it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRomeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is in need of refurbishment but it was clean and comfortable and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good:tasty, hot and plentiful. We had 2 good nights' sleep though the room was small and the bathroom basic with just 2 very small bars of soap. If you're looking for luxury, or even decent paintwork, then The Star is not for you. However, it is well located for the Quay and the main shopping area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a cheap stay so if you just want a bed for the night then it's fine but nothing more. The decor is shabby and old but the bedrooms were very spacious with everything you would need. Breakfast was fine for the money .. wouldn't want to spend more than one night but price was good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bonifacio, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed there for a long time, I mean 20 days till I found an stable accommodation. The receptionists, are usually Polish or Russian and very friendly and polite. The owners, old women, are on the quite rude though. The hotel is old, the elevator is old, the rooms are old but well furnished but still tiny. I hotel position is very ok, but far from univ. of south.
Cheers

Room Tip: The room are different but ask for the one in the main building, otherwise you have to move the bags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing