We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is perfect If you are a movie producer looking to reshoot the 1960 Psycho film, or if you are a kid wanting to spook your friends by telling scary stories about this s-hole of a place.

As an hotel, it just doesn't work.

My room had a single bed, a small desk and a sink. The bathroom? There was none. Well, there was one, at the other side of the hotel that I could use. The receptionist assured me it was my own private bathroom. But after inspecting this bathroom, I realised that it had no shower.

It's ok if a hotel is run down and old, but you kind of expect certain things when you pay for a room. A shower would be one of them.

Needless to say I got the hell out of there and moved to the Blue Keys hotel (excellent hotel and about the same price)

If you want to live close to the city, and you are on a budget, I would just go for the Dolphin hotel down the street. Same price, but so much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horabjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    98
    103
    96
    113
See reviews for
49
173
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Star Hotel is clearly not a first-rank accommodation. It is situated in an old building in High Street, Southampton, a small area miraculously spared by the WWII bombing. Such historical heritage could definitely be worth enhancing by the business; instead, they left it to its destiny. The facade looks pretty ugly, and it is falling apart, while inside, the carpet throughout makes things worse, especially when it comes to pull your luggage through the numerous stairs (no lift available, for what I could see). That said, the rooms were decent, and looked clean to me. The staff was extremely helpful, and the manager allowed many of us to leave our luggage in their premises and enjoy the sunny day out even after we checked out, and that, for my necessities, made up for the everything else.

Room Tip: Rooms too far from reception don't get good wi-fi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siebel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Me and my 2 friends paid £20 each for a double room with a extra bed. The location is very central and there is a multi story car park close by. When we arrived to our room we actually had 2 double beds. We were only expecting a double and a rubbish single bed. So this was a good surprise. The bedding and en suite was very clean. we paid £40 for the double room and a extra £20 for the extra bed. This was very good value for money. I would not pay more than this to stay here though. This hotel i would say is ideal for people just staying a night who plan on using the hotel simply to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here end of August with a visit to my daughter who is working on Queen Victoria. Just wanted an overnight stay for me and my father. Everything else in Southampton was very expensive so took a punt on this. Nice big room but that was the only good thing. Needs a re-vamp - Is a very old hotel and it shows. Worse thing was I just received my credit card statement and the hotel have charged me twice!!!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Although it could do with a bit of a revamp, my room was big, clean and great furniture. The hotel has a lot of character, especially with the Titanic-style lift. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Overall a lovely stay in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my 16 year old son was going to southampton for about a week.Thought we had found a nice and clean hotel when we looked at the photos from The star hotel.When we got there and opend the door to the hotel, the first thing we noticed was the bad smell.We got the key and went to our room and we were shocked.My son kept telling me i booked the wrong hotel,it was nothing like the photos they had on and he dident want to stay,but it was to late already paid and nothing else available.We could not opend the windows when they were nailed shut and rotten.The faucet dident work and had a hard time getting wather,the carpet was filty dirty and smelled so bad we had to use shoes inside.It had so many faults this hotell.I went down to complain and what they said it was an old hotel,its not an exuse for them to use its an old hotel when its all about cleanliness and all the wrong thing in there could be fixed.This hotell is so filty dirty its a hazard to your health.The hotel should had the front door nailed shut a long time ago,like the windows inside.Am realy suprised they are allowed to keep this plase opend and i do not recomand this plase to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heidi1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I loved the central location of this hotel, in the historic High Street and approximately equidistant from the railway station and the harbour. Each is a short walk away from the hotel. (For those who love history as I do, it is interesting to note that Benjamin Franklin and also Queen Victoria visited the hotel in previous centuries.)
The hotel staff were pleasant and efficient which made my stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing