We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,968)
Filter reviews
1,968 results
Traveler rating
570
798
415
112
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
798
415
112
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletpolice stationexecutive roomtgi fridayspancake machinemini fridgeaccor hotelscar parkretail parkswimming poolsofa bedcruise terminalgood sizewest quay shopping centreper daypre cruiseleisure facilities
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 1,968 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

The room was tired and at best basic. The bar staff were disinterested as were the breakfast staff. They seem to not have any understanding of hospitality whatsoever. There has to be better competition and choice in the area.

To add insult to injury there was an over charge item on the bill of £70.00.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Garsidepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. I am sorry to see that your experience was not as good as expected.
Kind regards,
Patrick Le Henaff
General Manager
Novotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Gold membership need to be highlighted in order to get the benefits. Breakfast could be either better products. Espresso too.

Room are clean, although not really new. Superior room have Bose Bluetooth speaker, which is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hotels-Accor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay, thank you for your loyalty I am happy to see you got your benefits. This should have been offer automatically. Thank you for this feedback.
I hope we will see you in a very near future.
Kind regards,
Patrick Le Henaff
General Manager
Novotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

We have stayed in this hotel before as a couple and noticed how child friendly it was so we decided to have a night away here as a family.
We checked out the availability and prices on booking.com but called the hotel itself and they found us a better deal for the night which was a great start. On arriving at the hotel we checked in easily and the staff were really helpful and lovely with the kids, finding them pencils and paper so they could do some drawing and there is a little kids area in the main reception with an x box and toys which was lovely. We were on the 5th floor and our room was simple with a double bed and sofa bed. Everything was spotlessly clean and included loads of toiletries including comb, shaving set, shoe shine as well as the usual shampoos and shower gel etc. There was lots of tea and coffee as well as a coffee machine which was great and some bottles of water in the fridge for the kids and dressing robes and slippers.
The kids had a great swim in the pool which was really warm and didnt have a deep end which was comforting while the kids were swimming around. The pool area was really clean and tidy but there wasnt much room in the changing rooms which was awkward for changing the kids.
We ate in the restaurant which was faultless. The kids menu was £4.95 for a 3 course meal and a drink which was such a good deal. The staff could not do enough for us (especially i think it was the restaurant manager who was fantastic with our kids, setting up the little tv booths with headphones so the kids could watch monsters inc, he even took their dinner over to them when it arrived!) Adult dinners were huge and delicious and a really good price (lots of choice for vegetarians)
Overall we had a great stay here and would definatly return again with the children, a really lovely time.
Parking was £8.00 for overnight.
Kids eat breakfast free

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dollydoo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Dear Lewis,
Thank you very much for your stay. I am very happy to receive your great feedback. Thank you fort the details comments. Those, I am sure will benefit future guests coming to the hotel. I am very happy to see you had a great time with us and the kids had a fantastic time too. We hope we will see you again in a near future.
Kind regards,
Patrick Le Henaff
General Manager
Novotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Situated very close to Ikea and on site with two Ibis hotels at the same location
Safe convenient parking on site at an extra charge of £8 per night
Really warm friendly welcome at reception from Simone, very helpful and informative
Bright airy spacious reception area
Lifts to all floors
Nice big bed in the room, which was clean and tidy, it was a superior room, plenty of facilities, a fridge with two bottles of free still water, tea making facilities, with biscuits.
A safe for valuables
Nice large bathroom with bath and walk in shower and plenty of towels
Good sized TV and a reasonable amount of power points
Room service if required
Tried the restaurant, very good service and reasonable choice on the menu, fish, meat and a lovely three egg ham omelette with fries, very good value and very tasty
Room had a view over the car park
Very comfortable bed and good nights sleep
Very handy location for heading homeward as well, with a right turn straight onto the main route southbound
A gym and swimming pool, plus sauna. The pool is quite small, but the benefit is that the water is nice and warm. A 6 footer can manage about three strokes from end to end, but the pool is really nice and clean and decorated well. Towels from reception and key operated lockers in the changing room

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobalobajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Dear Guests,
This is with satisfaction we are receiving your great feedback. I am very happy to see you had a great time with us and we hope we will see you again in a near future.
Kind regards,
Patrick Le Henaff
General Manager
Novotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel while I was moving my Daughter to the University. The hotel staff were nice, conditions were adequate and it was in a very convenient location. The rooms were a good size and they added in another bed per my request Son my 2 daughters and I could sleep comfortably. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or families.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Fritz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay and great feedback. I am glad to see we will you again during the visit of your daughter at University. Thank you and See you soon.
Kind regards,
Patrick Le Henaff
General Manager
Novotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews