We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Reception staff very capable and helpful. All staff encountered were polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, stayed in a "superior" room which was quite plain looking really, I did wonder what the standard must look like. The bed clothes were a worn out beige colour and probably due for an update. There were shortfalls in cleanliness, I saw dirty finger marks on the bathroom door handles which should have been wiped down.

Room Tip: Didn't like the separate toilet and bathroom much
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor, I am sorry that you found our superior rooms plan and I have also shared your feedback regarding our Cleanliness with the team which we have addressed. Again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    709
    360
    92
    58
See reviews for
499
620
101
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

i stayed there the weekend just past for my sons 2nd birthday. conveinent for peppa pig world. the rooms were perfect, the cover manager who was looking after the place while the general manager was away was excellent. the best service we got though was from a lovely waitress who looked after myself, my mum and nan. also my fiance and our son after getting back really late on sunday for a late dinner. we didnt get her name but she was the only female waitress on sunday evening in the main resturant. my son loved her and she wasnt allowed to move from his site. she also let my nan have a kids menu as she doesnt eat much. so if the general manager looks at trip advisor please pass on my thanks to both the covering bank bank holiday manager and the lovely waitress.also for breakfast on monday the manager ran to the other hotels to get a baby high chair as all were taken. im a resturant manager myself and if i was working in southampton i would have stolen them both from you. many thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank madrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It is great to read your review and we are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at Novotel Southampton. I think we have a fantastic team too and I will be sharing your thoughts with the team here. Again thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts here and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I come to the Novotel for work and I must say that I love it!

The rooms are always nice and clean, you get free wifi for 24 hours and the breakfast is smashing. Try the little fresh pancake maker and the back of the breakfast bar - they are delicious!!

The only thing I am not as keen on is the dinner menu - it's been the same for a while and is pricey. When I come here I tend to go over to the TGI's as they do a good set menu for £16.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGCMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words; it is great hearing from a regular guest. Thank you for your feedback regarding our Breakfast, I like our pancake maker too – they taste great in the morning. I have noted your comment regarding our Dinner menu, these changes seasonally and I have feed your comments back to the team. Again thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to having you back with us soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Executive room, well equipped, clean. Complementary water, bath robes, toiletries etc. Booked early, good value for money. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Complementary WiFi was a bonus too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for posting your thoughts here on tripadvisor. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed our executive room and we are looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Checked in to hotel at 7pm and had to be back out for 7.30pm as we were having dinner with the Mayor of Southampton ( Oh get me!) Back to sleep only BUT DID NOT LIKE THE TOILET IN A CUPBOARD( she says in capital letters to express the dislike even more) Also the terrible artex / chipboard walls and ceiling were less than appealing! However the breakfast was absolutely perfect. The dining room was quiet and we had a table at the back of the room by the window. The menu was superb and the waiting staff were extremely attentive ( without being in your face) I would have liked some kind of fish option but nevertheless there was an adequate selection. Would I stay here again? If I could have a room with the toilet in the bathroom YES as that was a big no no for me. Staff wise, I would employ them all ! :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyred456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for your review, I am sorry you did not find the Bathroom configuration to your liking we do have several accessible rooms that do have the toilet in the Bathroom for future reference. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our Breakfast and we do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice, clean modern room and very friendly reception staff and duty manager. We had looked forward to a 'swim' before dinner but the pool is just over 11 feet wide - more of a cosy communal bath.
Maybe just a personal thing, since no one else seems to have mentioned it, but you can't turn the air conditioning 'OFF'; you can only control the temperature. Which means the fan runs all night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thought here. Our swimming pool is 7.8m x 3.4m. I have noted your comments regarding the air flow in your room and we do hope that you choose us again if coming to Southampton in the future.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 24 in Southampton
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing