We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this novotel and overall was very nice , the breakfast was quite nice too, there is 3 hotels that share the same car park (two ibis hotels including novotel), it's kind of annoying to pay for parking for a hotel albeit a subsidised amount for hotel guests..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cessna110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts here on Tripadvisor. We were happy to read that you did enjoy our hotel and have noted your feedback regarding our carpark which is very competitively priced. Again thank you and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    673
    339
    87
    50
See reviews for
468
587
96
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel has a good location between the railway station and the city centre. The room was fine; and ready early so we could check in around midday, which was nice. Nespresso machine in the room plus complimentary water bottles. In the evening we asked about the pool and we were given the access code, but the next morning we went down to find out only then that the pool was closed until 1pm. With check-out time at twelve that means no use of the pool (which was one of the reasons to choose this hotel).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tersparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts here on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am truly sorry you were unable to access the swimming pool before you departure. We do hop to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

clean efficient average hotel. The only complaint was that the supervisor at breakfast transferred a tray of glasses to another tray each time picking the glasses up by the rim. Ghastly practice and surely against all and every health and safety rule. Even if her hands were scrupulously clean this is a sure way of transferring germs from one glass to another.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DorchesterMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
sure way of transferring germs from one glass to another
Many thanks for your kind words. I am surprised to read your comments regarding our Breakfast Supervisor and will be sharing these with our team as not the normal hi standard that we usually deliver. Again thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here and we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels across the UK but never a Novotel, this was a new experience for me.... And I would do it again. After a swift check in we entered the room, after a quick look around the phone rang, it was reception asking if the room was up to standard, this is the first time I have had a curtesy call from reception, a great touch and fantastic customer service!
During our stay we had a drink in the bar, it was an enjoyable area and moderately priced.
When we returned to our room in the evening we noticed a subtle noise coming from the air conditioner situated above the side of the bed... Upon checking we were shocked to find it was blowing out cold air! After many attempts we soon worked out that the thermostat was useless and didn't affect the temperature at all! After a few calls to reception we were told it was centrally controlled and couldn't be switched off, they sent a gentleman up to the room to have a look, he attempted to block the vent but it made it very noisy. He explained that the ventilation was a central system and could not be controlled in each individual room, but the one in our room seemed more powerful than others. Unfortunately (for us) the hotel was fully booked so we were unable to be moved, the member of staff offered us a complimentary breakfast for the morning as an apology which we accepted. The breakfast was good, a great selection at a good quality, although I wouldn't have paid the usual £13.99 it was advertised at!
In summary a very pleasant stay in a nice hotel, but ventilation system should be addressed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DGmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We were glad to read this was you first stay in a Novotel and that you enjoyed it. We do have an ambient air system which cools/Warms air. I am sorry you found the system to cool during your stay with us and I was glad to read my team need try to provide you with a solution. We are currently working on a solution that will ensure the comfort to all of our guests and we really hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights with a friend in one of the Executive Rooms. Apart from the fact you get bathrobes, slippers and nice coffee, the room isn't really any different to the standard rooms. Since their standard rooms are perfectly ok though that isn't a problem. My friend had no problems sleeping on the sofa bed, which was very comfortable and our only real complaint about the room was it was incredibly hot. The air con seemed to make no difference so we turned it off and opened the windows, but with the curtains shut at night, that didn't cool things down much.

We were impressed by the breakfast and particularly by the fact that though their machine had run out of pancake mix, and it was 15 mins to go before breakfast ended, they still made more mix up so we could have pancakes. That's the sort of little touch that really makes a difference to how you feel about a hotel.

The pool is small, but still just big enough to swim properly, provided it's not too full, and the sauna was good. They helped us to fill in the time before we went out in the evening.

All in all, it's a really good hotel to stay in if you want to be near to the station, the IOW ferry links and the main shopping centre in Southampton. I'd definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronicMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Many thanks for your great review of au. I was happy to read that our team ensured you had fresh pancakes for your breakfast and you made good use of our leisure facilities. I am sorry you found your room too hot; I have noted this and will be working with our technical manager to ensure we are achieving our guest’s expectation. Again thanks for your review and we do hope to see you again at Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Previously stayed in the excellent Premier Inn, West Quay but tried this place due to good reviews.
Room grim and dark; only two lamps and NO main light. Bed OK just. WC in tiny, dark cupboard rather than in bathroom. Bathroom small.
Very poor soundproofing - could hear person above going to loo at midnight and again at 6am - not nice!
Breakfast barely adequate and very expensive - no light/continental alternative. Evening meal was OK but wine very expensive.
Check-in was friendly but check-out wasn't - not even asked if I had had a good stay.

Room Tip: Bring a torch and earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on trip advisor, I am sorry you found our rooms to dark and noisy for you. We have a full English and continental offering in our restaurant and a light bite selection is available in our bar. I have shared your comments with our team and we do hope that we will see you again
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing