We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Children”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great hotel, but I wish there was a seperate room for children, with there parents, near the bar, and not in the bar area. It can be very noisy, what with screaming and crying, its not relaxing at all, other than that you have to go to your room, and after all the bar area is for adults not for babies and children. I do understand that it must be difficult for parents, but its also difficult for other travelers, who also are tired and just want a quiet drink after there sometimes very long journeys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank firlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We here at Novotel Southampton welcome all of our residents and I apologise if you found some of our younger residents noisy, it is always our mission to have all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and I do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    700
    357
    88
    54
See reviews for
492
610
101
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights before going on a cruise, so location was excellent. Staff were very polite. Breakfast was excellent. Not sure if we would pay extra to stay in Novotel as Ibis is excellent for overnight stops, slightly more basic, but no holes in chair or stains on carpets as they have flooring. On the first night the heating just pumped out cold air all night. Duty manager did sort this the next day. Also coffee machine had a leak which we thought Duty Manager emptied as he as going to leave a towel but didn't so unfortunately it leaked during the night and wet all out paperwork, travel insurance, etc., which we had on the desk!! Toiletories hadn't been changed even though had been used. Bedding had a greasy smell to it. If you can get a good deal then it is worth staying, but check room on arrival.

Room Tip: If four of you sharing, pay for the bigger room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts here on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read our Duty manager did assist you adjusting the air cooling but we are disappointed we let you down regarding the coffee machine and Toiletries. We do hope to see you again and I have noted your comments.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel Southampton for three nights in May with the children. We chose this hotel as the price was reasonable, it was close to the train station and we could all share the one room (2 adults 2 children). The children each had a pull out bed which was rather uncomfortable as an adult but they didn’t seem to mind. We had a lovely breakfast each morning with lots of choice. There was a small swimming pool which the children used each day. The train station, with direct access into the New Forest, was a couple of minutes’ walk away which is primarily why we picked this hotel. The children loved the free Xbox near reception and on a couple of occasions we sat in the bar and had a drink whilst keeping an eye on them in the children’s corner. There is an ASK and a couple of other restaurants within a couple of minutes’ walk. On two evenings there were very big events taking place in the hotel but our room was on the 5th floor so we didn’t experience any inconvenience. Reception were very helpful, storing our bikes being the reception, providing us with replacement car parking tickets and housekeeping kindly posted a jacket left behind. Would recommend this hotel and will be returning

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words regarding your recent stay with us here at Novotel Southampton. I have shared your comments with our team and they are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comment regarding the sofa bed and we are all looking forward to having your family stay with us again.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We found small curly hairs on one pillow and in the bed! The bed was nice and firm which makes a change from the usual hotel beds. If you are on the larger side you may have trouble getting into the very small toilet, the shower was lovely and powerful.The staff were very helpful and a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here. I was most concerned to read your comments regarding the hair found on your bed, As you can see by the comments left here we take the cleanliness of our rooms most seriously, our team are dedicated to ensuring you have a comfortable stay and are here for you during your stay. I would be grateful if you contacted me on glenn.findlay@accor.com so I can get some more details regarding your stay to ensure this does not happen again. Again thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel to stay in prior to boarding a cruise ship as it's very close to the port terminal. It is very clean, the staff are very polite and helpful. Booked a disabled room which has great bathroom facilities for a Disabled person. Breakfast has a good selection to choose from although the dining room doesn't seem quite big enough to cater for the amount of guests. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange1960StokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on trip advisors. I am thrilled you enjoyed you stay and will be passing on your kind words to the team here. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent stay in a first class hotel. Hotel was easy to find in a good location near the docks and waterfront yet close to the centre of town - train and bus stations within walking distance. Welcome was very friendly and professional. Bedroom was clean; bed was comfortable; facilities as you would expect. My package was dinner, bed and breakfast - good value if booked online in advance. The bar and restaurant were pleasantly decorated (although the chairs in the bar area were not particularly comfortable) Good choice in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Good wine list. Buffet breakfast had large choice and food was well prepared. Fitness centre available - although not put to use on this visit. My only negative point was the £5 to pay for parking the car, which is a pet hate of mine. Overall, however, an excellent stay - and I would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for you Kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again. I have noted your comment regarding our Bar chair and Car Park charge. Again thank you for your comments.
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We always stay pre-cruise at this hotel. I have to say that this was by far the best stay yet. There have been issues for me with cold plates at the breakfast buffet but, on this occasion the plates were hot and the breakfast excellent. In addition as we were staying over a Sunday night we had complimentary access to the in house movies. Cannot wait for our next cruise and we will be staying at the Novotel, Southampton.



Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JohnM209960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel here on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive rooms and also to know this was your best stay yet. We look forward to your next stay and hopefully surpassing your expectation again.
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing