We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed with my wife for a night out, and very much enjoyed our stay. Very convenient access from the motorway, and for the shopping centre. Full marks for the restaurant staff and food quality. Worth getting the upgrade. Recommended Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StokeseyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It is great to read your review and the team will be thrilled with your great comments – we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    673
    339
    87
    50
See reviews for
468
587
96
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I used this hotel prior to our Transatlantic trip on the QM2.

On arrival we were earlier than the official booking in time but our room was ready for us and the receptionist was extremely friendly and when we enquired as to the return rental cars office nearby drew us a map to the rental office and advised us of the quickest route back to the hotel once we had deposited out hire car.

We room was a good size with a very comfortable settee and on a high floor from where we could see our ship.

We used the restaurant that night which was very good value and the staff were very friendly, service was excellent.

We did not have breakfast as we do not usually have breakfast.

In the morning we asked the reception to book a taxi for us and on arriving at reception prior to our booked time we found a very busy reception with many people waiting for taxis. I was rather apprehensive about our taxi arrived at the allocated time but I should not have been concerned as all went like clockwork.

If and when I am in Southampton again I would not hesitate to use this hotel again as is was superb value for money.

Room Tip: Be sure to book your taxi through hotel as it seems to work like clockwork.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Migs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be passing on your comments to our team and we do hope to see you again at Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had stayed at Novotel properties before and was looking forward to the experience again at Southampton but unfortunately this visit was disappointing. I chose the hotel partly because of the `mobile WiFi' which it claims to offer in all rooms. This was a mistake. To you and me, dear reader, `mobile WiFi' means that your laptop, tablet and smartphone can connect seamlessly to the internet but that is not the case at this hotel - despite what it says on its website. The only place where this is true is in the bar and restaurant and I found that to get internet in my room at all, I either had to pay an extra fee ot upgrade to a more expensive room. I have no problem with paying for service but I begrudged the fact that this was not made clear before booking. I paid the money and found that the room had some nice amenities such as a fridge and dressing gown and slippers. The slippers were particularly appreciated as the carpet felt dirty.
The only experience of the restaurant that I had was the (included) breakfast, which was disappointing - the cooked options available were unappetising and cold. When I decided to extend my stay in Southampton for another few days I moved hotels.
To be fair, the hotel says it is aware of the WiFi and carpet issue and plans to upgrade in the next year or so but until they do I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts here on trip advisor. I have checked our website and it clearly states we have ‘Wifi at the hotel (paying)’. Our wireless service is currently chargeable – we will be changing this by July and will have the facilities to offer complimentary wifi, at this stage we do have a complimentary hotspot in our Lobby. I apologise if you felt the carpet in your room was dirty and our cooked Breakfast was cold, I have shared you comments with our both our Restaurant and housekeeping teams to take on board. We continuously update our rooms and I can let you know we are about to start a soft refurbishment to one of our floors. Do please feel free to contact me on glenn.findlay@accor.com and I truly hope to see you again here at Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, NH
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed with our daughter and her family. Our granddaughters enjoyed the pool. The hotel was convenient for visiting my sisters and brother and would definitely stay again.
The room was comfortable and the bed had good support.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank buntyfromtotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for taking the opportunity to write about us here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read your daughter enjoyed our pool and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Southampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good fascilities in the room, good bed. The room had enough space to be comfortable.
Nice bar and restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had a lunch in the bar. The super food salad was a bit poor. The breakfast was OK.
The most negative things were the noise from the harbours and the ventilation system in the room. And it was way to hot in the room, but there was no airco. So we had a bad night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 232Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy you salad and will be feeding this back to our chef. We have an air cooling system in Novotel Southampton and I apologise if you did find this to warm during your stay. I was glad to read overall you did enjoy your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel,all the staff were very helpful and friendly, it was in a very good location close to lots of shops and also to West Quay which was very convenient when carrying lots of shopping.,great food ,family room good. Will certainly go again and suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pam840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was fantastic to read your review and I have shared your kind words with our team here. I am glad you enjoyed the shopping here in Southampton and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent hotel- Always try to book this hotel when travelling on cruises from Southampton. We prefer this hotel to the De vere 5* Hotel - Better service and overall stay.Staff are very friendly. Breakfast nice -lots of choice. Short walking distance to shops

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor. I think we have such a great team here and it is wonderful to read your comments confirming this, I have shared these with our team and we are all looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing