We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Epping, NH
1 review
“Our opinion”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed with our daughter and her family. Our granddaughters enjoyed the pool. The hotel was convenient for visiting my sisters and brother and would definitely stay again.
The room was comfortable and the bed had good support.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank buntyfromtotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for taking the opportunity to write about us here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read your daughter enjoyed our pool and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Southampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    689
    348
    88
    51
See reviews for
486
598
99
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good fascilities in the room, good bed. The room had enough space to be comfortable.
Nice bar and restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had a lunch in the bar. The super food salad was a bit poor. The breakfast was OK.
The most negative things were the noise from the harbours and the ventilation system in the room. And it was way to hot in the room, but there was no airco. So we had a bad night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 232Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy you salad and will be feeding this back to our chef. We have an air cooling system in Novotel Southampton and I apologise if you did find this to warm during your stay. I was glad to read overall you did enjoy your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel,all the staff were very helpful and friendly, it was in a very good location close to lots of shops and also to West Quay which was very convenient when carrying lots of shopping.,great food ,family room good. Will certainly go again and suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pam840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was fantastic to read your review and I have shared your kind words with our team here. I am glad you enjoyed the shopping here in Southampton and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent hotel- Always try to book this hotel when travelling on cruises from Southampton. We prefer this hotel to the De vere 5* Hotel - Better service and overall stay.Staff are very friendly. Breakfast nice -lots of choice. Short walking distance to shops

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor. I think we have such a great team here and it is wonderful to read your comments confirming this, I have shared these with our team and we are all looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A two night stop over on the weekend of the 20/21st April. Agree with some of the other comments on here that upon first look the hotel is situated on a pretty uninspiring out of town retail site but once inside I thought it was great. Accomodating staff, child-friendly, great swimming pool and gym facilities plus breakfast was plentiful which was just what we needed ahead of a day at Peppa Pig World (about a 15 minute drive away).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHorsfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is nice to read your kind words and I am happy that you and your family enjoyed you stay here at Novotel Southampton and we all hope that you had a great time at Peppa Pig World. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location - tricky to drive to first time due to interesting turns! Very close to centre, therefore ideal to walk to shops, restaurants etc, but very busy and NOISY surroundings.
We booked a superior room which was nice, but I can't imagine how small/basic a standard room would be. The room was far too hot at night to sleep comfortably, and having window open meant excess noise from road traffic.
Everywhere was lovely and clean - well done to the staff!
Service was also great, staff were lovely, but don't appreciate smelling cigarettes on smokers uniform!
Have stayed in Novotel before in other cities; this one didn't meet our expectations but met our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Megan495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts here on tripadvisor. I am sorry you found our rooms to warm during your stay and I was most disappointed to read your comments regarding the smell of smoke on a staff member. I was glad to read you did like our interior and thank you for your kind words about our team. Our superior rooms come with more amenities than our stand rooms and are of the same size. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth,uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice stay at the Novotel Southampton, good quality rooms with excellent facilities but would have expected free wifi in the rooms, even the Premier Inn gives you 30 minutes free!! Nice swimmimg pool and gym facilities, towels a bit rough though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts here on tripadvisor and we are glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities. We do currently charge for wireless however we will be changing our service within the next 3 months to offer a more competitive wifi solution. Again thank you for posting you thoughts here and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Southampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing