We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Southampton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Harbour Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Star Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Winston Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,870)
Filter reviews
1,870 results
Traveler rating
531
764
401
104
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
764
401
104
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletpolice stationexecutive roomtgi fridayspancake machinemini fridgeaccor hotelscar parkretail parkswimming poolsofa bedgood sizecruise terminalwest quay shopping centreper daypre cruiseleisure facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,276 - 1,281 of 1,870 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Standard business hotel which was clean and efficient. The room was clean but a little drab and had all the required facilities you would expect. A decent bar with a reasonably priced menu for fairly standard pub grub. A little soul-less but functional and was quite happy with everything. Breakfast again was fine, but not top of the range. Get pretty much what you pay for which was fine in this case.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lunch_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on tripadvisor, we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived to a broken toilet, an overpowering stench of vomit in the room and no air conditioning. The room itself was generally in poor condition. Our stay lasted less than an hour. Absolute dump that is best avoided. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank UK_T0uring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

I am sorry you did not enjoy our Hotel, as you can see by the many review posted here on tripadvisor our guests normally have an enjoyable time with us. We do not have air conditioning in Novotel Southampton. Please feel free to contact me on glenn.findlay@accor.com if you would like to discuss you stay with me personally.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break with my wife and 2 children. Checking in was very efficient and the receptionist even gave the kids a little egg each. The room was very spacious and had a mini bar and complimentary toiletries and coffee/tea facilities. We used the leisure facilities which was a nice feature of the hotel. We didn't eat evening meals in the hotel as we used the local TGI Fridays. However, the food looked very nice. We had breakfast in the hotel as part of the package and it was one of the nicest we've had with plenty of choice. I couldn't fault the hotel and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robhops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

It was great to read your review today and I will be sharing it with all the team here at Novotel Southampton. I am glad your children enjoyed their Easter eggs and I look forward to having your family stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arriving at the hotel is past McDonald's and TGI Friday. Car park is £5 per day and reasonable value given urban location.

The lobby is nice, and fairly modern looking with TVs everywhere and an iMac for general use. Free independent newspaper is available if you read it (which I do)!

The hotel receptionist spoke slightly incomprehensible English, but we managed to work out that our Executive room had free Internet.

Upstairs the ambience deteriorates, with bare stripped plaster when we came, and our Executive room was very small, with barely enough space for the sofa to be converted to a bed if we had wanted to. The desk provided has to be rotated out of the way if this is to be accomplished.

On a positive note, there are plenty of power sockets, including by the bed for charging devices. Our room came with an excellent Nexpresso coffee machine (although only two caffeinated and two decaffeinated coffee capsules. The toilet is separate from the bathroom, making both very small and slightly claustrophobic. However, facilities are all there and very good. Toiletries were nice and included a facial scrub etc.

Internet is through a cable, so you either need your own router or I used my laptop and broadcast a personal hotspot from it to provide a connection. It is fast - capable of streaming video.

Bath is on the small side, but manageable. Many will just want the shower anyway.

Breakfast is excellent - buffet and good variety, hot and cold. Service was prompt and efficient. One nice touch we noted was three one-person tables with TV screen and headphones. Useful for business people and single travellers.

Overall a good hotel that could be excellent once redecorated and if the bathroom and toilet could be sorted out.

Leisure facilities are on site and appear to be good, but we did not have a chance to use them as the pool was closed! We did get free parking as compensation.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkmacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Many thanks for your review and feedback. I am glad you did enjoy your stay with us, we have started redecorating the Executive floor including smoothing the walls of the corridors, my apologies for this bare plaster in the corridor, rest assured this has now dried and has been painted. I have taken note of your comments relating to the Toilet lay out and also thank you very much for your kind words regarding our team. I do hope that you will choose us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pleasant hotel, nice decor, friendly staff, handy position and good parking faciities. We enjoyed a stay here for a few days at the end of several months in Europe and after driving all over the UK visiting friends and family. It was mid-winter and we were always warmly greeted by the staff whether that was in reception or in the bar/coffee area. Nice immaculate rooms and bathrooms, everything worked well and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for you kind words. We do hope to see you again in the near future here at Novotel Southampton
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews