We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To relax or not to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Customer service was excellent, IMPRESSIVE! Front desk and room service was so welcoming. Very clean and comfortable. However, the the swimming pool and gym entrance is exactly where the reception is. Which I find very inconvenient and very odd. No wonder I did not see anybody using the pool & gym our entire stay.

Room Tip: Choose the executive suite! The best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CutieliciousP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments about you stay with us here at the Novotel Southampton. It was great to read you comments relating to the team here and I will share them with the team. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the novotel southampton prior to joining the queen elizabeth. It was comfortable and well located for the centre and for ease of transfer to the port. We booked bed and breakfast and we werent disappointed. We didnt eat in the hotel other than breakfast as we chose to eat in the TJI Fridays next to the hotel as we arrived late. The second night we went to the Mayflower theatre and were delighted to discover an excellent eaterie adjacent to the theatre - the vestry.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you jenger for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Novotel Southampton. I look forward to welcoming you back and I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Mayflower Theatre.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is awful. Totally needs renovating, you have to pay extra for wifi! And for parking! And the toilets are separate from the bathrooms with no sink!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supersuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to expand on you experiences further, please feel free email me on glenn_findlay@accor.com.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hotel is in a good location with secure parking. We stayed on a winter offer and got a really good price so were a little wary of what we might receive. However, the room was clean, very quiet and with good facilities. Some areas of the hotel look like they are due an update but overall the hotel is very pleasant with nice facilities, especially for children. The staff were very friendly and we had a nice stay. The upgrade cost to an executive room also seems very reasonable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albiejnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Southampton. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have found Novotels in general offer that 'little bit more' to make the stay better.
-Great lobby with lots of space, games, light
-Rooms were clean, modern and had all we needed
-Location ideal for us, near to huge shopping centre and town.
-Swimming pool for the kids was good.
-Breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Southampton again very soon.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My Fiancee and myself went to this Novotel already 3 times and every time, we just love it!!! It's perfectly located, just a minute away from the train station. The lobby is lovely and welcoming. The Check in is fast, and we always managed to get our room before 2pm, what a good custumer service!!!

The room (we always take the executive ones, if you book in advance, it's defenitly worth every penny) are always lovely, plenty of space,the tv are huge, the beds really comfy, and you do feel like home, but even better!!!

They do have a lovely leisure facility, always clean, lovely swimming pool, and a really nice sauna...Free of charge if you stay with the hotel.

The big plus is definitly the breakfast though. I always try to not eat too much but i fail as everything is so good!!! They do have some fresh pastries, jam, cheese, ham (as a frenchman, it's heaven!!) and my fiancee always takes the full english breakfast,which is excellent too . Well, it's just fantastic food overall !!!

All the staff are very polite and answer with a big smile!!! I never have seen anyone unhelpful, which is difficult, as they do a very hard job, pleasing all those guests (and some difficult ones!!).

We are definitly coming back soon, as we live in Poole, and it's a nice getaway from our jobs. If you want a hotel in Southampton, there's only one place to go !!

Room Tip: Always book executive ones in advance, it does worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to right your review here. I will share your comments with our team which I am sure will make their days. We really look forward to you returning to Novotel Southampton.
With Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochford
1
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Excellent location for the port. Just a few minutes and we were there refreshed after a nice meal and good nights sleep.

Front desk service excellent both booking in and departure. Found all the staff in the bar, restaurant and at breakfast very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

So glad you had an enjoyable time at Novotel Southampton! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $90 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing