We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Southampton Centre
Nearby Hotels
$111
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$86
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Keys(Southampton)
$131
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveler rating
226
444
277
68
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
444
277
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstgi fridaystrain stationcruise terminalaccor hotelsretail parkshopping centrewould stay againcomfortable bedshort staywest quaywithin easy walking distancemayflower theatrepre cruiseper dayone night stayfollowing morningnight's sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We paid a little more for this rather than the Ibis budget. We needed to be able to get to the train station to Portsmouth to run the Great South Run. Considering the Ibis, Ibis budget and Novotel are all next to each other in the same area, had I realised this I would have compared them before booking but my search engine came up with the Ibis.

The bathroom was a little worse for wear as was some of the wooden fittings in the room, otherwise the room was good.

Breakfast varied, on the Sunday when it was well cooked (especially the bacon and sausage) except the the scrambled egg was very dry on top as it had been sitting too long. The breakfast on the Monday the scrambled egg was much fresher, but the sausage and bacon was very much like it was warmed through but without the marks you get when something has been well fried which adds the flavour to the food.

I have sent my comments to Ibis by their website and received a polite reply, so I have given a very good response based on this, hopefully these minor things will be corrected for their customers in future.

Room Tip: Compare the Ibis, Ibis Budget and Novotel, they are all right next to each other.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guests,
thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay in Ibis Southampton. We are glad to see that you enjoyed staying with and we are making note of your comments which will be addressed.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedbacks.
Regards
Emilie Dengremont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southmanager, Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently reviewed the Grand Harbour Hotel in Southampton, and feel it only fair to add my opinion of a better choice of place to stay before embarking on a cruise.

We are addicted to cruising and after two have several more booked over the next twelve months, and have already chosen the Ibis as our budget hotel of choice for the next two. It is in a great location, less than £5 by taxi for two from the train station, and also to the harbour side. The main shopping area is a comfortable ten minute stroll away and there is a McDonalds and TGIF Friday in the grounds.

The reception is bright and modern, the breakfast is fantastic value for a full English buffet self service, with loads of choices and no limit to the returns per sitting. Our room was small but perfectly comfortable for a short stay. The bathrooms are slightly tired but clean and functional, take your own towel though as theirs were small and worn.

We asked for a late check out and reception were very accommodating.

There is an evening restaurant which we didn't use but we did have a drink before retiring and the prices were reasonable and the seating area is comfortable with plenty of local attraction information available.

We ordered a taxi from reception and it was very quick to arrive.

Next time it will be November and it will be interesting to see what the hotel is like in the colder weather as the room was very hot and sunny, and if I am being picky, the windows only open a tiny crack which is frustrating in a hot summer. I am hoping for good heating and ventilation next time otherwise we both enjoyed this budget hotel very much.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank v551dln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests, including positive comments which help us to recognise and reinforce excellent service within the team. kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked this hotel for a pre cruise night due to its locality and parking costs.
£5 per 24hrs parking (a lot cheaper then the cruise parking).
Hotel was very comfortable with great reception staff, great location as the port is right opposite for where Royal Caribbean dock. Easily a 10 min walk from hotel door to port. Perfect.
TGI's and McDonalds near by, also many shops a 5 min walk away.

Cheap hotel if booked well in advance.....

If review is helpful please click the Yes below.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We needed a basic room for a night before boarding our cruise ship. This room was clean, quiet, comfortable (small) and a great value. We were able to walk from the hotel to the ship, so we saved a taxi fare. We also were able to walk into town for dinner. The room would be small for an extended stay but served our needs perfectly.

The lobby is bright and cheery. We did not eat at the hotel, so I cannot advise on the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyehep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews