We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Room was a little tired, dirty shower curtain, a few marks and scuffs on the walls, room starting to look a little dated.

Staff were extremely friendly, bed was comfortable, room was warm and quiet. Did not try food so can't comment on that. Not a bad place if you need somewhere for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazambane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear customer
I have taken good notes from your comments about the rooms.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    397
    245
    58
    31
See reviews for
124
417
106
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for the second or third time whilst in town to see Gary Numan at the Guildhall. Everything was as before, really welcoming staff, spotlessly clean, tidy and comfortable room/bed, food, etc. The prices are still really low as well, you definitely get exceptional value for money. On return from the gig the lovely Julia was on bar duty and made us delicious sandwiches to the effect that everyone else then wanted one as well! Will definitely return; it's a great hotel with great staff, the shopping centre is a short walk away together with the cinema and eating places across the road. Oh, and of course the Guildhall! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHedgehog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I'm really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Service was great and friendly. One particular Receptionist was lovely and helpful. In fact all the staff are lovely and friendly. I had an interconnecting room which I was unhappy about and they moved me straightaway. They let me keep the same room when I was snowed in. Breakfast is fresh. I would prefer an alternative price for breakfast as I am a vegetarian and don't eat the hot food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sennis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind review!
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stayed in different Ibis hotels before and have always found them really clean and comfy. I stayed for one night this time in Southampton and found the hotel easy enough, everything seemed nice until I got to my room which absolutely reeked of smoke,after travelling with little sleep I was honestly too tired to do anything other than sleep so it is my own fault that I did not report it, the room itself was a little dated but did the job. I was a little unimpressed that I had to attend a meeting the next day reeking of my room - which says alot since I am a smoker, the room really did need aired out. The staff, however, were fantastic! Couldn't do enough for you and were very chatty and helpful - very impressed with the service. All in all not a bad hotel, just a bad room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkabouter201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind mention about the hotel staff.
I will let them know about your recognition.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I used the Ibis as it is within 10 minutes walking distance of the train station. Previously stayed at the Novotel which is better and next door but about £30-£40 more expensive. Rooms are basic and a little tired in places with limited tv channels ( about 7 or 8 ). The hotels best asset are its people, all staff were very helpful and polite.
Food choice is quite limited if you fancy an evening meal and the cooked breakfast did not look too appetising ( powdered scrambled egg ) however there is the usual toast, cereal and fruits.
In summary an average budget hotel whih is ok for an overnight stay on business or similar

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Your feeedback is very much appreciated!
I take all your comments on board and will use them to keep improving our services.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

To stay for one night this hotel offers good value. With hand luguage it is walking distance from the trainstation and shopping area. The reception was efficient. The small rooms are clean with a minimum of comfort. You have to be in bed to watch TV. One uncomfortable chair in the room. Internet is NOT free. The Accor group is not keeping pace with other hotels!
Outside the hotel only parking lots unfortunately. Restaurant is more like a canteen. Not much selection for breakfast but the quality was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Many thanks for posting your opinion about us.
Hope to see you soon with us.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing