We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely relaxing spa break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing spa break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Myself and my friend booked a 2 day spa break through SPastayselect.com, we had breakfast both days and it also included 3 course dinner on one evening.
Beauty Therapists were fantastic and very friendly, our deal include 2 treatments and we paid for another and all were excellent.
Only reason for not giving 5 star rating was pool area could do with a little bit of updating.
All staff were friendly and attentive. Also great location for shopping or nightlife in Southampton its self.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    466
    401
    215
    137
See reviews for
259
682
56
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Friendly welcome from person on reception. Room in need of an update, even though a deluxe room. Although a large room - family room with the two sofa beds down it was difficult to get around. Sofa beds incredibly uncomfortable for older children. Room very hot and air conditioning not working. Tried opening windows but a lot of noise coming from outside and was woken several times during the night - particularly when emptying skips right outside at 5.30am. Not what you expect from a higher star hotel - no pens, only 2 biscuits (even though booked for 4), few bathroom supplies. Breakfast good. Did not opt to eat dinner at hotel as it was quite pricey but went to Holiday Inn just over the road. Next time would probably opt to say at Holiday Inn. Asked for room in front of hotel but was told no family rooms overlooking Harbour.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Despite being told our room was guaranteed to be ready by 3pm it wasn't and despite having a deluxe room it was incredibly crowded as we have two children and the sofa beds were made up. There was no room to manoeuvre around the additional beds, and the sofa bed mattresses were INCREDIBLY uncomfortable. I just thought it was my teenager doing the usual teenage complaining, until I tried it myself - I can honestly say I have never laid on such an uncomfortable bed in my life. They really would have been better off on the floor. Luckily we found some blankets in an overhead locker in our room - they had stains on them, but I put them underneath the sheet and my teenager did manage to sleep eventually. The room was uncomfortably hot, the window was broken and hung by one corner when opened, and there was a pile of dust and hair by the towel radiator in the bathroom. This was supposed to be a deluxe room. What a joke!

The only good thing about this hotel was the food - breakfast was nice and the eating areas were pleasant. However, there is absolutely no way I would ever set foot in this place again, especially since there is a Premier Inn within sight of this hotel, and I've had much better and cheaper experiences staying in those.

If you're staying here - good luck, hope you have a much better experience than us.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a deluxe - there's nothing deluxe about it. Do not subject your children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadafabtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived one day ahead of our cruise to relax & unwind from our long transatlantic journey. After reading the many frightening reviews, we had no idea what to expect.

We arrived early (10:15 am) to a very empty lobby. We were pleasantly surprised when the desk clerk informed us that she had a room available for us (lucky!). We were assigned room 348, a Deluxe King (as we had booked). Again, we were pleasantly surprised to find the room in very good condition...none of the peeling paint or dirty rugs as previous reviewers have commented on. We also had a lovely balcony with a view overlooking the old city walls & the water.

We chose to have drinks & an early dinner in the bar, which serves light bites, sandwiches & the like, just what we needed. The wait staff in the bar were very friendly & attentive. We slept well on a comfortable mattress & had no issues with the bath/shower situation. The bathroom lighting was excellent & there was a nice makeup mirror (magnifying, thank you) on the wall. The buffet breakfast the next morning provided a sufficient array of foods.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay & feel we got what we paid for. Oh yes, did I mention the complimentary wifi?

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FitTravellerLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived on the Thursday of Cowes Week and obviously the hotel was going to be crowded, and we were not disappointed! The wait for check-in was interminable, and the process and amount of paperwork the hotel generates is astounding. Despite it being possibly the busiest time (19h30) there were only two out of the three terminals being used. 15 minutes later we were given the key to a very pleasant room, with full amenities (apart from a pen to be able to fill in the breakfast card for room service - so we skipped it altogether!) and a large, comfortable bed.
We checked out the vast restaurant and equally large bar, but felt they had no charm or intimate feel to them, and left for an amazing Tapas Bar around the corner.
The following morning, after a decent, quiet night's sleep, we went through the same fiasco for checking out. My credit card was taken for the second time, and more paperwork was thrust at me (did I mention the copy of the invoice under the door during the night?). Again only two work stations were open, although several staff seemed to be walking behind the counter to check on various things, only to disappear. This process also took about 15 minutes.
On the plus side, the spacious car park by the hotel was helpful and not too expensive, and the concierge was helpful in sending us off to a more attractive eatery with some atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel, in the 230's. Very calm and a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

As with many people this was a one night stay before a cruise at the end of June 2013, having booked a double room a year before and still owned at that point by De Vere. On arrival found out the car parking beside the hotel carries a charge of £10 for the night on top of the £169 for bed and breakfast. Reception was very busy but to be expected, the staff were friendly enough but looked run off their feet. We had paid extra for the room as it overlooked the harbour, but it was very tired,peeling paint on the cornice, dusty skirting boards, hair on the carpet, and the shower door was rotten and discoloured on the bottom part of the frame. In general it was not up to the level of other 'budget' hotels in the area, the only redeeming part of the visit was the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My partner and I were heading to Southampton to celebrate a friends birthday. We looked at all the hotels in the area and were not disappointed when we arrived at the grand harbour! Great, friendly reception staff, lovely room with balcony and sea views! Considering our friends paid £80 for the ibis budget I think we got a serious bargain staying here! The same old saying applies about other negative reviews on this site- you get what you pay for! If you want a luxurious suite then don't expect to get it for nothing! Thanks to the grand harbour and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing