We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is getting very tired. Needs updating. Lots of interconnecting rooms, and rooms on South West side get lots of wind noise due to the architecture. Not a relaxing stay, better places for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuttle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    487
    423
    237
    152
See reviews for
275
725
58
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We thought we would give the hotel another chance after not being happy last time

Glad to say we had no problems this time and enjoyed our stay

We always liked staying here previous as it is right on the waterfront, next to all the shops (west quay) and really handy for joining our cruise ship.

Check in was smooth efficient and staff friendly, nice room clean and comfortable.

Have already booked again for when we are down this way end of May

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for our first wedding anniversary Oct 2012. Staff lovely , they even gave us a box of chocs and anniversary card. Room very clean, had a balcony overlooking garden and sea side view to the right. Hotel restaurant good, food was amazing, has pulled pork which just melted in the mouth, steak was divine. pudding was fab too. Good shops, would defo go again.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony defiantely worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enfieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I came for a 2 night break with a friend. We chose Grand Harbour as it looked the nicest hotel, had a spa and was overlooking the sea. When we arrived to check in our room was on the first floor. All you could hear was the traffic from the main road. It didn't say anywhere on the website that there is a BUSY main road between the hotel and the sea. We came back down to reception and aksed to be moved as it was just to noisy with the traffic. We were eventually moved to the 3rd floor. You could still here the road but it was marginally better. The rooms are extremely dark even with all the lights on. The bathroom was in desperate need of a refurbishment - cracked tiles, a toilet that wouldn;t flush unless you mvoed the handle about 10 times up and down.

We had dinner included on our first night. After asking for one glass of tap water 4 times it eventually came. We had to send one of the main courses back. The plate was so hot you couldn't touch it but the food was barely luke warm. We then ordered desserts and waited over half an hour for them to come. While we were waiting for the them the waitress came and apologised and offered us a complimentary tea or coffee.

The spa treatments were amazing but we couldn;t even sit by the pool and relax. It was so cold we were both shivering and that was before we even went for a swim!!!

I used to work for De Vere venues many years ago and it used to be a fantastic company with wonderful hotels. After staying here I am extremely disappointment and would not recommend this hotel to any of my freinds and this has now put me off staying at De Vere full stop ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceMendesdaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel in the past but on this occasion I was invited to have complimentary afternoon tea with my daughter-in law, as apology for the very shabby way she had been treated over a spa booking. We had a lovely afternoon and enjoyed our sandwiches and scones, but it was all ruined when I was presented with a bill. Unfortunately the customer services manager who had sent me the invitation and made our booking, was not actually present on the day. The bar manager would not accept that this was complimentary, demanded that I pay and I was made to feel like a criminal. To save more fuss, as we had my 4-month old granddaughter with us, I did eventually pay for our "complimentary" afternoon tea. I was furious, especially as we were only there because the hotel had messed up in the first place. Now they had compounded it.
I went home, collected the letter of invitation, and returned to the hotel that evening where I received a refund and a very grudging apology from the bar manager and another fairly useless manager whom I later discovered was a trainee.
The customer services manager who had arranged this for us telephoned me the next day. She was very embarrassed and angry that we had been so poorly treated and said she could not understand how it had happened. Neither can I.
I've been told that the hotel is no longer part of the de Vere group. I'm not surprised.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked a twin deluxe room with a water view as a extra special treat for her hen night. I booked online, when we arrived check in was quick efficiant and easy. Room was amazing, clean, warm and comfortable. Had a good nights sleep, even the bathroom floor was comfortabke as my bestie ended up asleep on it at one point, too many shots she had when we were out. Breakfast was yummy. Checkout was also quick and efficiant.

Room Tip: Get a water view it is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have returned after a 5 day business trip at your hotel. I have emailed you on a personal basis, but have to say the Customer Service l received from Tom was outstanding, his personality shines through and he genuinely cares about the guests at the hotel.

The food was amazing, the pool and poolside factilites was really good.

The beds were very uncomfortable for me, which interrupted a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a good view, but if you can get a room with a balcony and a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chardonnay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing