We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs better management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location and an attractive looking modern hotel. Check in efficient as it was a quiet time, an hour later there was a very slow moving queue, reception therefore unable to answer my telephone call from room, management needs to be more visible and help out. The concierge was helpful when I needed my watch strap fixing. Dinner was a corporate function and the food and service were both good. Room and bed comfortable although lack of AC could be an issue in the summer. Breakfast is served in an attractive room and the buffet is of a good standard and variety although service a little erratic, it took quite some time to get coffee and a kipper! Parking is an extra £10. Check out efficient but annoying they have a £2.50 surcharge if a credit card is used, also I don't like a charity donation being added to my bill even if you can have it taken off. Housekeeper tried getting into the room before I had gone to breakfast, I could have been sleeping. These are small things but it just takes the shine off what could be a much better stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,900 - 1,906 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed here many times on business and have always enjoyed my stay, and especially looked forward to the breakfast, lots of choice and great service. Couple of minor niggles it took a while for them to understand the bill back payment for my company and even now I have to ensure they understand it when I book in. The other is the parking, I just find it irritating that they charge £10 for parking in that location, and to qualify my employer pays. The hotel is slightly past its best but that said it lives up to its name, and the staff do so equally. It location is bit out of the way and you will need to walk or catch a taxi to eat out. Highly recommended. Will be going back next month.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

When trying to book a 2-night stay last November we were charged twice for the booking. After numerous phone calls and emails eventually the hotel admitted they had charged us twice. However, we were so let down we cancelled the booking altogether and wrote to the manager. We got an apology and a complimentary Sunday lunch for 2. We don't really do Sunday lunches at hotels so we requested this be changed to a dinner or 2 and we would book a room for the night. We were offered DBB for £98 with an upgrade to a harbour view King room. Needless to say we accepted. We do enjoy staying at this hotel - it has a warm cosy feeling to it. Book-in ran smoothly and the room was excellent - they have obviously been modernising the rooms and bathrooms. Flat screen Cable TV and I'm sure new bed/mattress as we slept beautifully. Our dinner was exceptional (clean plates all round) and the service outstanding. Breakfast was faultless also - buffet style with options for freshly cooked eggs benedict etc We will definitely be booking a stay there again in the future and we would recommend this hotel as a base for Southampton and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LymingtonRadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were very happy with the standard of this hotel. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Excellent relaxed feel hotel to the public areas.
Brekfast was good quality and the restaurant was not overcrowded.
The only negative is the cost of the car park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ideally located in city centre. Large rooms. Free and excellent wifi service. Expensive. Very tired; bordering on tatty. Unable to perform the most basic of advertised hotel functions: delivered laundry in the morning and collected it unwashed in the evening; breakfast low quality and hotel staff expected guests to provide their own self-service additions to ordered dishes. Car parking £10 per day in addition to other charges. Will use as second from last resort in the future. Frequent business traveller.

Room Tip: Room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4d6f6e7465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

It was a lovely hotel but it needs some TLC. Specifics would be that the leisure facilities need updated and cleaning as it really does let down the whole hotel. It does seem with the reviews on here that there is a 'tired' look with the hotel so it would be interesting to see if the management take note......

Staff are lovely, especially breakfast staff.

Food is good quality if a bit overpriced.

I would recommend this hotel as a good base for west quays shopping etc!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros:

* Free internet
* Large room
* Close to town

Cons:

* Could not alter the heating in the room as the radiator control was broken
* Bathroom felt unclean
* I suspected that basic room checks were not undertaken before guests checked in (toiletries renewed, pen/pad added etc)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $111 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing