We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”

Milan Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Milan Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 859 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go after reading the reviews which are generally favourable.

We are glad we did! This restaurant is a bit off the beaten track but once in the service is good, but the real winner is the food

The mixed fish starter went down well with the wife and the portion size was very good. The filet steak was cooked to perfection- the best we have had for a while.

The only slight downside is that it is next to a night club and separated only by an internal door, which means that you can here the "boom boom" of the club quite easily

Overall well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ppuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    55
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not quite up to the billing”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

A group of 5 booked for a Monday night meal based on staying close by and on the strength of TA reviews. The welcome was good and the service was also fine. There was only one other table occupied and the two chefs in the open kitchen looked fairly bored. We enjoyed the Monday Madness I.e. Half price main courses. We shared three starters which came in good time, tempura shrimp and bruschetta. A number of us had the ribeye steak mains and others chicken or lamb chops. Straw fries accompanied the steaks so we asked for a portion of vegetables which when they came consisted mostly of new potatoes, the side dish for the chicken in effect. Maybe a better selection for those with chips might have been nice. We had a couple of bottles of red which was quite palatable (we took the second one half full away with us). We couldn't complain about the bill £20 per head on the offer but the food was good rather than exciting. If we were back in the area, we might go again as it proved reliable but we would also look further afield. I think there must be restaurants, Italian or other genre which would have more zing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scalloplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst service I have ever received”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to the Milan last night and were completely appalled and embarrassed by the service. We decided to order from the specials board, I ordered the sardines which were whole and in sauce (something which had not been mentioned on the board or by the waiting staff). I am not put off by de-boning fish, but this was virtually impossible, with nowhere to put the bones and having to use your hands in the sauce, it became messy and unpleasant to eat. When we told our waiter this, suggesting he warn customers and perhaps offer a side-plate we were hit by a barrage of abuse. He told us we "clearly don't know what we are ordering and no nothing about food" he then proceeded to tell he'd "been in this business for 30 years" and that he "thinks he knows just a little more than we do about food and how it should be served" this torrent of abuse continued to the point of utter humiliation. He rudely said "well if you want it taken off the bill then you should have just said that". The main arrived and I couldn't touch it. He stood at the bar watching us and audibly and visibly complaining about us. In the end when it came to paying by boyfriend asked to pay the deducted rate and the manager told him he had to pay the full amount, scaring him into it by genuinely dialling 999, threatening to call the police. It was shocking and embarrassing and it ruined our evening out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

One of the best restaurant in Southampton. Food is great, fair prices, good wine and friendly people.
Well done

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sturio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Southampton”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you feel like eating proper Italian food then look no further. Milan has the best Italian food in Southampton hands down! The pizzas, pasta and all the meals are amazing! As a starter the mushroom cream on brioche bread is my personal favorite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milan Italian Restaurant also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Milan Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing