We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great idea...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ovation, Mayflower Restaurant

Ovation, Mayflower Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: British, Soups, International, European, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are extremely proud to shout about our restaurant, Ovation. Proof that in-theatre dining can be sophisticated and contemporary. On the third floor of the city's Grade II Listed Mayflower Theatre, we are ideal for pre-show and selective post-show dining as well as more leisurely dining without the show. We are also the ideal restaurant for post-show dining after some matinee performances. Our dining room is modern in style with painted wood panelling, black and white stage photo prints and high backed leather seating, tables simply styled in monochrome, with polished silver and gleaming glassware. Modern European in flavour, our menu is as sleekly up to date as our surroundings with indulgent touches that give an extra sparkle to special occasion evenings. Our top notch wine list is an excellent accompaniment. It almost goes without saying that we offer extremely high quality and affordable dinner and show packages and of course our highly professional and efficient staff always ensure that if you're dining pre-theatre you will never miss curtain up!
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great idea...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We'd booked over 18-months ago to see War Horse and hadn't even thought about booking the restaurant at the Mayflower Theatre. You don't apparently need to be seeing a show to go but judging by the fact every table was taken, you would need to book. They managed to squeeze us in when I enquired a few weeks ago and we are so glad we did as it is a great idea.

We arrived at the foyer and our reservation was checked. An express lift took us up to the 3rd Floor where we were greeted and seated immediately.

The menu is how I like - short but with a varied choice i.e. a few meat dishes, some fish, a curry etc.

We had tapas to start (there were 4 of us), followed by scallops then a beautiful vegetable curry.

And the best bit - we had desert and coffee in the interval.

So very civil. No hassle parking (at 17:45), no rush from the restaurant. We even could leave our jackets on the seats.

The food incidently was first-class. Presented with care, proper portions (not small but not piled high either) and the staff very attentive.

Needless to say we will be doing this again when we come to the Mayflower, and most probably when we are not!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    103
    38
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No encore - a very poor production”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our family of 4 had lunch as part of of a birthday treat for War Horse. Thank goodness the show was superb because our Ovation experience was anything but. My starter plate was warmer than the contents. Neither of my daughters enjoyed their mains. Sausages were definitely off - very sour. When I brought this to the managers attention she said 'they were sourced from reputable butchers'. That's besides the point. I wouldn't expect them to come form a horse but the fact is they were off and plainly so and to be offered an explanation as to their provenance rather than their edibility showed an arrogant disregard for customer opinion and feedback. My wife asked for some bread and it was a struggle to get one roll. We both skipped puddings as by that stage the totality of the poor food quality, the meagre portions of what we could eat allied to the disproportionate prices made for a woeful start to the day. Skip the meal go - straight to the show.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ray_cormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“put the cherry on the cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Booked the restaurant when getting the tickets for War Horse, and it really did add to the enjoyment of the evening. A comfortable, relaxed feel to the restaurant, with helpful, friendly staff. The food is sublime! Not cheap, it must be said, but totally delicious. Can't wait to try it again - may be while seeing Wicked in November. Who would have thought that a theatre would have such a very good restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lapaix50140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Theatre restaurants are usually, in my experience, no better than average - they're simply refuelling stops before seeing a show. However, Ovation is a cut above that, and would easily hold its own amongst Southampton's restaurants.

Our starters (seafood fishcake, boudin of chicken confit) were both really good, and so were the main courses (beef stroganoff, and the dish of the day, salmon). We finished with the assiette of desserts which was lovely.

The service was outstanding, and the bill far from unreasonable

Overall, a really good way to dine before seeing a show

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whitingbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation_Restaurant, Owner at Ovation, Mayflower Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of Ovation restaurant. We are pleased that we have been able to impress you with our show-stopping dining service. We will ensure all of your feedback is shared with the whole team and we hope to see you in Ovation again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent menu, service and ambiance, the absolute best way to see a show!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife bought a package to see War Horse and have a meal first. the menu was different and unusual. The service was first class and very professional. We were able to leave our coats in the restaurant for the first half and then return to our seats for drinks at half time instead of fighting through the crowds on the crush bar. The staff are to be congratulated

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation_Restaurant, Owner at Ovation, Mayflower Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of Ovation restaurant. We appreciate your great comments on the food and service you received during your visit. We will ensure all of your feedback is shared with the whole team and we hope to see you in Ovation again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ovation, Mayflower Restaurant also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Ovation, Mayflower Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing