We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired business traveller rests and recharges”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amberley Guest House
Ranked #23 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tired business traveller rests and recharges”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

A really good find. Efficient booking, clean, comfortable and homely surroundings without being "fussy", clean sheets and towels, clean room and shower, comfortable bed, great breakfast choice including cooked. Just perfect for a good night's sleep and a good breakfast to set you up for the day. Very pleasant, attentive and personable people too. There is some traffic noise as the property is near to a road, but that is to be expected in any suburban location.Excellent value for money. Highly recommended. I will stay again.

Room Tip: I have only stayed this one time. Next Time I might ask for a room that does not front the road, at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
8
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Booked a double ensuite room, which was very clean (including the bathroom).

The owner was nice and friendly but the room faced the road (ground floor) so it was a little bit noisy.

Would definitively not recommend ground floor rooms in summer when windows need to be opened but overall had a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at Amberley Guest House for six nights whilst I was studying at Marwell Zoo. Eliana and Peter are fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was great (especially the scrambled eggs!) and really set me up for my days at the zoo. My room was comfortable and the shared bathroom just next door was very clean. The dining room is open in the evenings and guests can use the microwave - I found this really useful because I couldn't afford to eat out every night.

Overall, I had an excellent stay and will certainly be back when I visit Marwell again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaretCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed in this guest house together with my two friends. Very nice place. Everything one would need for a comfortable stay. Very personal and very nice service. Owners are very very nice people. Happy to recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apetinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I am sure that this is the best guest house for solo traveler especially form abroad besause owners are very kind, helfpull, and warm. The location is very convinient for city-sentre and central station! The beakfast is very nice traditional! Free-WIFI survice help your trip. Prices are very reasonable!
Repeadedly, I strongly reccomend this B&B for foreign people!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masaaki186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Amazing hosts, wonderful room which was so cosy and comfortable, fantastic poached eggs and great coffee. Mr + Mrs Welburn were so friendly and extremely helpful and I will be returning often. A big thankyou to you both

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I brought my parents to come to my graduation ceremony. We experienced a wonderful time with the host family, they are very friendly and helpful. The room is very clean, facilities are completed(iron, wireless....although I don't need to use them), nice snacks and delicious breakfast. Impeccable, I would like to say.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssdlineker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#23 of 24 in Southampton
103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flying Dutchman Hotel
Flying Dutchman Hotel
#39 of 43 in Southampton
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#13 of 43 in Southampton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#22 of 43 in Southampton
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcantara Guest House
Alcantara Guest House
#7 of 43 in Southampton
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landguard Lodge
Landguard Lodge
#27 of 43 in Southampton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Guest House

Property: Amberley Guest House
Address: 1 Howard Road, Southampton SO15 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing