We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buffet lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of KALI MIRCHI

KALI MIRCHI
Ranked #49 of 847 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indian restaurant with exciting dishes cooked by chefs with culinary experience gained in some of India's most prestige 5 star hotel kitchens.
southampton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“buffet lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

excellent value buffet lunch , plenty of choice and very tasty .This is a hidden gem in my opinion ; we were definately return in the future

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carl64ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    68
    22
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having recently moved this has now become my local choice for take away food. Have now had a few of the choices on the menu, and on each occasion it's been excellent!

Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattzzzz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've had Indian takeaways from lots of different places around the area but we've found this to be one of the best. I don't particularly like spicey food, so I'll generally go for a Korma. Their Korma is delicious, with whole nuts and raisins/sultana's which gives a bit more texture. My partner does like spicey food and he was impressed with selection of traditional dishes from different regions. They're always polite on the phone and good value too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“love Indian, love Kali Mirchi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

consistently excellent quality food. Have visited and recommended several times and my friends love it too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grenache5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Still Superb, the best Indian in Southampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Thought I would review again as probably been 20 times since my last review both take away and eating in. Very high standard of Indian food, the best take away quality I have experienced, even driving back to Romsey.

You cant look past the Chicken Kali Mirhci, a unique home style curry with chicken on and off the bone. Meat quality is Kali Mirchi is always high which is a change from other Indians.
Also recommended are all the house specials, especially Lall Maas, Gosht Amritsari and the Spinach and cream lamb tikka curry.

One of the best things here is a proper tandoor and the knowledge of how to use it, the tandoori mixed grill is superb with the most tender meat I have had apart from India itself. Also the nans are superb, being thin and crispy and not these flabby steamed breads you get elsewhere.

Always warm friendly service, I know the staff and manager now and feel welcomed as a friend.

Not sure what the earlier reviewer is talking about, maybe not a curry aficionado as strange choice to order a korma in Kali Mirhci with all the specials and other enticing choices on the menu.

Glad this place is near to where I live!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JDWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KALI MIRCHI also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to KALI MIRCHI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing