We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 44 Southampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday night, with a group of friends, they were in the main house, 3 couples, stayed in the annex with a girl friend, plenty of parking in a lovely spot, with a beautiful garden, absolutely immaculate accommodation. Delicious breakfast, endless tea and coffee. Superb hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueUponThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here at short notice due to lack of hotels because the boat show was on. There are two areas of accomodation - the main house, or the annex and we stayed in both due to Janet putting herself out to fit us in. The house is semi rural with ample private off-road parking (if you're a tradesman with tools in the vehicle thats worth remembering).

The annexe is a rectangular building down the colouful garden with 3 bedrooms - 2 at one end, and a shared bathroom and the ensuite bedroom room at the other, with a large shared lounge inbetween. Whilst at first this seems a bit of a strange arrangement - sharing a lounge with strangers, it works really well and we met some lovely French and Itallian chaps when we stayed. The lounge is darn nearly sumptious, beautifully and immaculately decorated with high class furniture that wouldn't be out of place in a 5* hotel. There is also a fridge, dining table and tea making faciltiies. Breakfast however is served in the main house and is one of the nicest cooked breakfasts you could ever have with fresh local butchers sausages bacon and eggs.

We had the ensuite room, which to be fair is fairly small, but again tasetfully decorated with really comfy beds. The en-suite is small but high class with a large walk in curved shower.

The whole place is totally spotless, clean, fresh and modern and very quiet.

We then moved to the main house. The room we had was simply huge, and worthy of a 5 star rating by it-self. The only drawback is you have to share a communal bathroom across the corridor, although we personally found no issue with this what so ever. The power shower here is worth staying for alone, lol.

Many people on here have commented on Janet. It's true what you read. She is an absolute delight and will do anything required to make your stay perfect. And you certainly will not be hungry after the breakfast, even a hearty eater like me!

One small point to be aware of, do be very careful when exiting the driveway. You're on a bit of a blind bend and cars do whip round it.

If you fancy a walk, go to the country park just a few hundred yards down the road, really nice.

Lots of vistors return here time after time, and indeed the foreign gentlemen were so impressed, they want to all return next year with their wives to stay here.

We couldn't fault our last minute (enforced) stay here and would not hesitate to both recommend it, and give it 5 stars and there is every chance we will choose to stay here again at some point.

Thanks Janet for putting us up and for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukwoody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here when attending a family wedding in the area after reading the other reviews on this site. Would thoroughly agree that this is a brilliant B & B. The hosts were lovely and very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, with tea in the beautiful gardens on our arrival after a long journey. The rooms were very clean and welcoming and the breakfast was also very good. We will certainly return here if we are in the area again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandAndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were in Hampshire for a couple of days to visit family and, based upon previous Trip Advisor reviews, booked into this B&B for one evening. We were so very pleased with absolutely everything from beginning to end. We will definitely return!

The B&B is a separate building (with a very interesting history - ask Janet about it!) located in BEAUTIFUL gardens behind the main house. It consists of 3 twin rooms (1 of them is ensuite) all located within the one building. (See photographs) Everything - and I do mean everything - was spotlessly clean.

The B&B is bright, airy, comfortable, and nicely decorated. There is a small fridge in the common area (stocked with fresh milk and bottled water), as well as an electric kettle, tea, sugar, and coffee. There are comfortable sofas and chairs, a large screen telly, magazines to read, and a large dining table.

We were booked into the en-suite room. It is very small, but has everything you need: twin beds with pristine, white linens - beautifully ironed; a night table with alarm clock; wardrobe; an extra cabinet with drawers; and a small telly. The en-suite loo had the most beautiful (and clean, clean, clean) shower, and the white porcelain toilet and sink were modern and spotless. White, fluffy towels are provided, and there is also a large, heated towel rail.

Breakfast is taken in the main house, around the kitchen table in Joan’s lovely kitchen. (See photographs.) Our Full English was perfectly cooked and delicious. Even the presentation was thought-out. We really noticed Joan's hospitality.

We cannot recommend Primrose Cottage B&B highly enough. It is excellent value for money. I am a clean freak and have walked out of B&B’s before. That kind of thing could never happen here. Joan thinks of everything - and is a charming hostess.

Just fyi, we went to a great car boot sale on the Sunday that is about 3 min. down the road. Also recommend visiting Netley Abbey (ruins) and Bishop’s Waltham Palace (ruins) if you are in the area; both are free. With regard to an evening meal, highly recommend (thanks to Joan’s suggestion) The Master Builder pub in the village, a 3 min. drive from the B&B.

Room Tip: Recommend the en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TLDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Couldn't better this! Lovely hosts, homely peaceful setting, well-appointed comfortable rooms and absolutely beautiful gardens. Breakfast was fantastic - nothing too much trouble. My partner and I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Many thanks to Janet and Alfonse for a really enjoyable relaxing stay - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a fantastic find!! This B&B was beautiful, lovely hosts, good breakfast, very clean, perfect gardens - I can definitely recommend and will come back should I be in this area again. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mollyrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a comfortable clean inviting homely friendly serene easy to find fantastic experience. Even though all the credit goes to Jan and Alfonse.

Gardens are immense, breakfasts as you like them and every little thing is no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
5.9 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
2.3 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#16 of 26 in Southampton
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Primrose Cottage Allington Lane | West End, Southampton SO30 3HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: $77 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing