We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in the heart of Southampton”
Review of Cargo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cargo
Ranked #10 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the heart of Southampton”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My third stay in the this trendy hotel confirmed to me that their personal and friendly customer focussed approach leaves there local competitors miles behind. The rooms are decorated to the high standard and are comfortable and unique with a wonderful Asian influence. The position of the accommodation couldn't be better with easy access to the shops or the docks or a stroll in the park just a minute away. Oxford street itself has a laid back feel with some great restaurants and bars right on your doorstep. The staff are all happy to help and often go out of their way to ensure you are looked after. Basically there is no-where else I would stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefikeefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    81
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
24
109
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed in the Loft Room. I have to say this is a fantastic place. I stayed with work, liked it that much I have been a few times. I think the breakfasts are great.
In summary it gets my vote.

Pomeroy

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This place is in a great location for eating out with lots of bars and eateries near by.
Our room was done out in a shaker style but also came with a superb bathroom , the staff were friendly and the optional cooked breakfast excellent. The continental breakfast was very basic with nasty orange juice bread 4 cereals jams and thats about it.

Our room No 7 up several flights of stairs had a rather dirty carpet but in every other way was great.

To sum up not a bad place let down by poor cleaning

Room Tip: Stairs are narrow and steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fetmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed in this 'hotel' last week and, now having read the comments submitted by others, am totally confused. In spite of the seemingly unanimous chorus of approval, my experience was entirely different. Fawlty Towers had nothing on this place. Shower not fully working and constituted a health and safety hazard, no curtains and blinds which would not pull shut without assistance from the proprietor. Carpets of dubious provenance and which had hardly seen a vacuum for months. Broken toilet seat adding to the general picture of boutique delapidation. No TV remote in the room.

To be fair, complaints were made and the evening meal was offered gratis. However, this does NOT compensate for the tawdry experience. What foreign visitors must make of this makeshift establishment beats me. We had previously stayed at the White Star and it is far better than Cargo.

The food, described in the self publicity blurb as exceptional, certainly was not. I would neither recommend this hotel/guesthouse or whatever other description is offered to anyone, neither will I trouble its management with further enquiries as to availability.

I actually think that Southampton Trading Standards or similar body concerned with the hotel industry should thoroughly check out the experience of this hotel and compare that with the publicity blurb.

I can only imagine that some of the comments made in your website have come from people with little experience of clean, comfortable and affordable hotel rooms.

In the words of the late departed Noel Coward....'Magnificent isn't the word for it!'

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

After not being able to get into the White Star I decided to reserve a room at Cargo.

There are many parallels between Cargo and the White Star - similar concept and offering, similar layout and room sizes, plus both venues transition from being a restaurant into more of a drinking establishment as the night progresses.

I think that overall Cargo has the edge over the White Star. This is primarily down to the excellent customer service. My check-in was handled promptly and I was shown to my room and made to feel very welcome by a member of the bar staff. We ate in the bar and had several rounds of drinks - all excellent value and delivered by attentive staff.

Breakfast the following morning was a delight and good value compared to the White Star. Check-out was seamless and the staff seemed interested in whether we had enjoyed our time at Cargo.

So top marks to Cargo. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Didn't stay in the hotel but had a drink and moved on pretty quick cos we got a pimms and a beer and it came to £12.80.
I don't mind paying a bit more cos of the location and it's a hotel but I think £6+ for a drink is a bit steep.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saintscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed here for one night and received a lovely warm welcome from Dee and Stuart. Despite arriving late, the chef stayed and cooked a delicious meal for us. We stayed in the loft which was impeccably clean and the 3 children had loads of space in the sofa bed. Our bed was really comfy too with lovely crisp sheets. Would highly recommend Cargo and look forward to staying here again soon. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cargo

Property: Cargo
Address: 20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cargo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cargo Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing