We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised By Negative Reviews”
Review of Jewel In The Crown - CLOSED

Jewel In The Crown
Price range: $24 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Southamptons Leading Indian Restaurant offering the widest range of indian dishes complimented with a wide range of spirits, wines and beers. Restaurant is fitted out to a exceptional standard and is fully air conditioned boasting a excellent atmosphere.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprised By Negative Reviews”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am very surprised by all the bad reviews for this restaurant. I live close to it and have been there scores of times. The food is good (although not outstanding) and the staff are very friendly and have always given us excellent service. I eat out a lot so am not easily pleased. I would definately recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank aliced12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    17
    6
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a definate NO”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

our previous visit was a great disappointment, the slow service, soft poppadums, cold meat in a warm sauce etc. Since we remembered when this was a restaurant of better food we decided to give it another go especially since the restaurant was not busy. We waited 90 minutes for our food and during the wait just saw endless bags of take away food leaving the kitchen. They did not have the two drinks from their drink menu we had chosen, they were not happy that we would not have Poppadoms. The food when it finally came was ok but no more and a long wait in an almost empty reastaurant midweek is a very poor show. Have they changed hands? the owner we knew was always around and making sure a good service was offered. Despite it being a 'local' for us we will not visit again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grenache5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shofraz, Manager at Jewel In The Crown, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We can confirm the Jewel In The Crown is back under the same management team that established the restaurant in 1993-2014. The old management team took over on the 27th October2015. At Jewel In The crown we are committed to the highest standard of food and customer services. The restaurant has undergone a refurbishment programme and is now presented in excellent decorative order. As a gesture of our commitment to fine wine and dining we would like to offer you £10GBP off your bill when dining in the restaurant. Voucher code 217537 valid until 31-01-2016.

Kind Regards

The Management

Jewel In The Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SHOCKING... never again!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Table of 6 - Extremely slow service... Cold food..... Over an hour wait for mains... Food was bland... waitress spilt cobra beer over mains whilst leaning over people??? also had to shout down a waiter for sevice as within 3 hours they only asked us for drinks ONCE?? Plus asked how long mains would be.... no one ever came bk with an answer... No discount offered... What a waste of money and time. Wont be going again. if i could rate this as a 0 it would be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shofraz, Manager at Jewel In The Crown, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We can confirm the Jewel In The Crown is back under the same management team that established the restaurant in 1993-2014. The old management team took over on the 27th October2015. At Jewel In The crown we are committed to the highest standard of food and customer services. The restaurant has undergone a refurbishment programme and is now presented in excellent decorative order. As a gesture of our commitment to fine wine and dining we would like to offer you £10GBP off your bill when dining in the restaurant. Voucher code 217536 valid until 31-01-2016.

Kind Regards

The Management

Jewel In The Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Poor service/food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Works night out.Table booked for 8 starters came out ok,we then had 1 hour 10 min wait for main.We asked one of the waitresses where our food was & that was the last we saw of her.When the food did come the rice was cold so it had to be sent back.The curries were Luke warm at best.The plates were not preheated which didn't help.The rice came back after a couple of mins by which time the Luke warm curries had lost even more heat waiting to be put onto COLD plates.
The other waitress lent over everyone when serving drinks.We were not even asked if we wanted sweets or coffee.
The bill came served with complimentary Bailey's which was spilt all over the tray.
All in all a very disappointing meal.
I've eaten here before several times but I will not be going back in a hurry.They need to get their act together or they will lose a lot of custom.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't order a take-away from here.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have used this restaurant for several years - eating in and more recently having take-aways since moving nearer. We hav always been hapy, have had a couple of wrong items delivered but thats not the end of the world!! Last weekend we ordered our usual to be delivered - it was stone cold, the quality of the food was disgusting. I telephoned to complain and asked if they wanted me to bring the food back. I was told 'no thats fine, we are sorry, have the meal replaced next time'. I phoned them 10minutes ago and surprise surprise, there was no record of this conversation although I left my name, phone number and address. So therefore this agreement ould not be honoured. Not a cheap take-away either £25.00 for 2.

Don't do it, you will be wasting your money

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shofraz, Manager at Jewel In The Crown, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We can confirm the Jewel In The Crown is back under the same management team that established the restaurant in 1993-2014. The old management team took over on the 27th October2015. At Jewel In The crown we are committed to the highest standard of food and customer services. The restaurant has undergone a refurbishment programme and is now presented in excellent decorative order. As a gesture of our commitment to fine wine and dining we would like to offer you £10GBP off your bill when dining in the restaurant. Voucher code 217535 valid until 31-01-2016.

Kind Regards

The Management

Jewel In The Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel In The Crown also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing