We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Malaysian food”
Review of Fusion Noodle Bar

Fusion Noodle Bar
Ranked #60 of 850 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Malaysian food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really good Malaysian food available from the special Malaysian menu - make sure you ask for it. The other menu's good too but this is special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    53
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Reccomended”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The food here was excellent. Me and my girlfriend both had the buffet which is very good value for money in my opinion. On the recommendation of Amateurfool we made sure to get some of the smoked shredded chicken and it was indeed amazing. The only better version of this dish I have had was at one restaurant I visited while actually in China. Also the Kindo chicken wings are something I had never seen before but the it was a most delicious fruity sauce and we found that the sauce actually went very well with the deep fried squid which was tender and not at all rubbery unlike at many other places.

The staff were very friendly and quite attentive. One particularly nice surprise was the middle course: shredded duck / lamb / vegetarian duck pancakes in which the server seemed surprised that we had asked for only one rather than some of each and asked if we would like some of each. The plates are individually quite small but you can have as many as you like and it is a nice change to find a restaurant where you can have both lamb and duck without having to worry about it being huge.

There is a good range of things available on the buffet menu but it is only a small section of all this restaurant has to offer. My partner and I both agreed that we would definitely be returning to try some of the dishes not on the buffet.

There are a good number of mains but considering the main menu I felt it was quite restrictive. All in all it took about 2 hours for us to eat our meal so not the fastest service ever but not terrible and most definitely worth the wait. My only complaint would be that the hard plastic chairs could have been more comfortable.

Overall this is a quiet, good value and delicious night out. It looks a bit out of the way on a map but it's only 10 minutes walk from West Quay and it is most definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feldoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

my partner and i ate here it was as another reviewer has said very quite,only two other tables were taken.And as another reviewer also stated the area around it is a bit run down, but apart from that the resturant is immaculate all the staff were welcoming but be careful because you will be incouraged to have side orders that you really wont need ,as its not one of the cheapest places to eat you can end up paying more than you wonted or expected to.Overall a very plesant place to eat and would recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmillerzy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oriental at its best”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

cant rate this place any higher. food excellent, service attentive, ambience perfect, price and value for money, without parallel.

dont miss this. take time to explore menus, especially Malaysian

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you love oriental food, then don't miss this one, top quality.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our first time in Southampton, we normally go for the self service type oriental buffets, but the reviews convinced us to give this a try.

And how glad we were that we did.

The 5 course, all you can eat, buffet is a real winner, we particularly recommend the smoked shredded chicken. The sesame prawn toast was another favourite.

The staff were friendly and attentive, food was served piping hot, and with minimal wait, however we were there midweek, the weekends may be different.

We will be going there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amateurfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Noodle Bar also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Fusion Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing