We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mayfair Guest House, Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mayfair Guest House
Ranked #1 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this lovely guest house. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and shown straight to our lovely, well equipped room. The proprietors could not have done any more to make us comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was really wonderful - very tasty. Don't miss the award winning sausages! All in all a really lovely place to stay. Spotless, well located (especiaslly for those going on a cruise) and welcoming. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 801 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

When we arrived it was not a case of here's your room, we had a lovely & very welcomed cup of tea. Breakfast lovely, plenty of choice. Within easy walk of the training centre (we was visiting) & Town centre where there are plenty of places to eat (which was also recommended to us). Very enjoyable, comfortable and clean. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a wonderful guest house and very friendly the rooms are large and very clean.
You are made most welcome on arrivial which made you feel at home.

The food was great and so much of it.

It is perfectly located for the City Center and restaurents just 10 minute walk .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at the Mayfair with my husband just for one night as going to a party in Southampton, couldn't fault the Mayfair in any way. Rooms were spotless, beautifully decorated, well equipped with everything you would need for your stay. We were made very welcome and the breakfast was superb!! This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just wanted to share we read the comments on TripAdvisor and booked this stay based on the comments of others. Following is the note I sent to Mark and Andy ...We loved our stay at the Mayfair Guest House B&B. It is the first time we have ventured away from a standard "North American-like" hotel and really enjoyed it!

We will definitely be B&B-ing it again thanks to your lovely accommodations and personal hospitality. Will spread the word with our travel agent and others we know who may choose Southampton as a departure or vacation spot.

Room Tip: I have mobility issues and we were on the ground floor. We had no issue with noise above or from oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGlobeTrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very enjoyable, comfortable and clean. Will definitely use again. Lovely breakfast choice. Highly recommend. Within easy walk of centre where there are plenty of places to eat. Parking was ok not brilliant. There are 4 places directly outside the guest house but there is parking on the road which has a 2 hour limit which suited me as I left at 9am and was back at 5.30pm and parking is allowed after 6pm till 8am then you are back to a 2 hour only slot. However I only parked on the road 1 night out of 4. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: I think they are all going to be very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzyapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed a couple of weeks ago with my husband. Wonderful room, so clean and spacious. The shutters make the room feel very special and the attention to detail was extraordinary. Well stocked tea tray and everything so very clean. Mark was very welcoming and had a great sense of humour. The local curry house he recommended was fab. All in all the best B and B we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#4 of 25 in Southampton
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
1 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Guest House

Address: 11 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: $92 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair Guest House is a small, family run establishment offering high quality, award winning 4 star accommodation in Southampton, Hampshire. All of our 8 rooms are spacious and comfortable and are equipped with remote controlled flat screen digital televisions (with integrated DVD players), alarm clock, hairdryer,refreshment tray, bottled water, luggage racks, central heating and free wi-fi. Ironing facilities are also available. Most rooms include en-suite facilities and we offer a choice of single, double, twin, triple, superking and family rooms.A comfortable guest lounge is accessible throughout the day equipped with a digital television and DVD player. Breakfast is served in a separate Dining Room and consists of a full english breakfast, fish dish, omelette or continental option. We pride ourselves on using high, quality locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Mayfair Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing