We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mayfair Guest House
Ranked #1 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed with Mark & Andy at the Mayfair Guest House for one night in September. Mark welcomed us with a cup of coffee and was very helpful with showing us local sights and nice places for dinner in Southampton. We slept in the Family Room on the 3rd floor, which was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Location was great for Southampton City Centre and breakfast next morning was superb. Very personalised B&B, both of them really made us feel welcome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fl0rian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    70
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
124
285
142
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was our first trip to Southampton and we look forward to returning thanks to the very kind and helpful hospitality of Mark and Andy. We arrived at the Mayfair on Monday and departed on our cruise on Saturday. During the week we took day tours to London, Salisbury/Stonehenge, Bath and Winchester. The rail system in England is amazing and a short walk from the B&B! Certainly something that Canada should seriously study! Southampton has many wonderful restaurants and one of Mark's many recommendations was 'The Vestry'. Not only was this a beautiful converted old church, but the food was very good and also a short walk from the B&B. Once again, we extend our thanks to Mark and Andy and especially for those English breakfasts in the morning!
Patrick and Edwige from Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: Our top floor room w/bathroom was very private, well equipped, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teredpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a wonderful stay in the Mayfair: convenient location, great room, nice breakfast and a very friendly welcome. I stayed there for one week and it felt really like home. Definitely the best choice in Southampton!

Kaat from Brussels

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just paid our third visit here in twelve months. Need we say more? For an overnight stay or a short break look no further. Mark and Andy are the best hosts we have encouintered.
And, they have a beautiful lounge for their guests where you can sit and relax. A rarity in guest houses these days. Come once and you will be hooked!

Jean and John ruddy, Dronfield, Derbyshire.

Room Tip: They are all good! Some are on the second floor so choose a first floor one if your legs are a bit d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Mayfair Guest House for two nights pre-cruise. Our room was very comfortable and immaculate. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Good quality linens.
Best cooked to order English breakfast. Nice common salon room for relaxing.
Just a short ten minute walk to shops and restaurants. Quiet street, quiet room. Would definitely recommend this for people looking for a typical English B & B experience. (It is not a hotel).
We would stay there again. Rochelle and Phil from California

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Good communications before and after our stay. A friendly welcome.Parking place and excellent cup of tea. Well appointed room, very clean. Good pisition for our purposes. Excellent breakfast. We will come again ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Delightful B&B - lovely decor - immaculately clean - Mark very welcoming and obviously loving what he is doing - made our albeit short stay very special. That coupled with the easy walk to the excellent Vestry restaurant! Good breakfast. Hard to beat!!!
Kathy and Jim. (sorry for delay in posting review!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Guest House

Property: The Mayfair Guest House
Address: 11 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair Guest House is a small, family run establishment offering high quality, award winning 4 star accommodation in Southampton, Hampshire. All of our 8 rooms are spacious and comfortable and are equipped with remote controlled flat screen digital televisions (with integrated DVD players), alarm clock, hairdryer,refreshment tray, bottled water, luggage racks, central heating and free wi-fi. Ironing facilities are also available. Most rooms include en-suite facilities and we offer a choice of single, double, twin, triple, superking and family rooms.A comfortable guest lounge is accessible throughout the day equipped with a digital television and DVD player. Breakfast is served in a separate Dining Room and consists of a full english breakfast, fish dish, omelette or continental option. We pride ourselves on using high, quality locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mayfair Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing