We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food in unpretentious surroundings”
Review of La Esquina - CLOSED

La Esquina
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Esquina is a small, family run restaurant, serving a wide range of traditional and tasty Spanish tapas. Tapas are small dishes of delicious food, ideal to mix and match to your own preferences. A tapas meal is a very casual and sociable way of eating. Ideal to share and enjoy different tastes and textures. Choose from our comprehensive menu or add dishes from our specials board. Many of our dishes are suitable for vegetarians and almost all of our dishes are gluten free. Apart from our hot and cold tapas selection we also have some delicious home-made desserts. Tapas eating is great to celebrate all kind of occasions in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We are more than happy to cater for small or large groups and to discuss your individual requirements with you. To accompany your meal we have a great range of Spanish wines as well as Spanish beers and cider. We are open Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. so why not call in for a coffee, (light) lunch, business meeting or dinner with friends or family? Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you soon at La Esquina.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice food in unpretentious surroundings”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We tried this restaurant yesterday after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. We ordered 12 tapas for 4 of us along with bread and olives, 2 soft drinks and a cider and it came to just over £50. 2 of our party were vegetarian and the veggie options were good - not at all an afterthought like you get in some restaurants. The owner was very friendly too and we look forward to returning again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrswonderstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Many thanks for giving us a lovely review.
We're really pleased that you found our tapas to be great value and also lots of options for vegetarians.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    52
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Ate here before the cinema early in the week. Great staff, and the food was cooked perfect. Scallops were best I've had in a while and the cocktails were refreshing and well made

Helpful?
Thank Dallie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for writing us a review, many people find that tapas is a great pre or after cinema meal as it can be light and reasonably quick.
Our scallop dishes have proved to be very popular so we're glad that you enjoyed it too.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rye
Level Contributor
199 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great value”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I went here for a meal when we were staying in Southampton for the weekend. We love tapas food, and this did not disappoint. We were pleased the food didn't all arrive at once, it was delicious and we could enjoy at leisure. Our only disappointment was the pork belly, but everything else was excellent. The staff were friendly, and would definitely go back if we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to give us your lovely review.
Tapas is all about relaxing and enjoying your evening whilst having a few dishes at a time.
You don't say what you found disappointing about our pork belly, but we do use good quality meat from our local butcher. Pork belly can be fatty by nature and so does not appeal to everyone but in general it is one of our most popular dishes.
Thank you again and we hope you will visit again if you are in Southampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely evening with friends.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

On arrival, I felt like we were on holiday - abright and friendly restaurant greeted us.
We ordered 8 tapas dishes between the three of us and this was enough.
The service was efficient and the staff friendly.
The food was served warm, which was a bit disappointing, but overall it was tasty.
A relaxed evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOUisebids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We have tried to create the feel of a tapas bar that you might find in Spain, so it's great to hear that we reminded you of holidays abroad!
We're sorry that some of your food was not as hot as it could have been but had you mentioned this to our staff we would have been more than happy to rectify that for you.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tasty, friendly, authentic”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visit la esquina as frequently as we can (babysitter permitting).

All of the staff are so friendly, ian and Gill make you feel like they are inviting you into their home because of their good nature.

The food is consistently amazing and the prices are very reasonable. We even brought our kids in for lunch for their first experience of tapas.

I would and do recommend everyone to give it a try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akent82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for the recommendation.

We do aim to create a friendly and welcoming atmosphere so we're glad you find that is the case!

We always welcome children so we hope you will visit again with your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing