We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with excellent friendly service”
Review of La Esquina - CLOSED

La Esquina
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Esquina is a small, family run restaurant, serving a wide range of traditional and tasty Spanish tapas. Tapas are small dishes of delicious food, ideal to mix and match to your own preferences. A tapas meal is a very casual and sociable way of eating. Ideal to share and enjoy different tastes and textures. Choose from our comprehensive menu or add dishes from our specials board. Many of our dishes are suitable for vegetarians and almost all of our dishes are gluten free. Apart from our hot and cold tapas selection we also have some delicious home-made desserts. Tapas eating is great to celebrate all kind of occasions in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We are more than happy to cater for small or large groups and to discuss your individual requirements with you. To accompany your meal we have a great range of Spanish wines as well as Spanish beers and cider. We are open Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. so why not call in for a coffee, (light) lunch, business meeting or dinner with friends or family? Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you soon at La Esquina.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked a table for Friday lunchtime after seeing the Tapas lunchtime meal deal, 3 dishes with a drink for £12.00. The service was very quick, which would suite many city workers on their lunch break, however we were in no hurry and weren't rushed. All the food we ordered was excellent, delicious Patatas Bravas, Meatballs in tomato sauce, hot spicy chicken wings to name a few. Desserts looked really good, although I was too full to try one. Can't wait to go back in the evening so sample the full menu, which looks delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for writing us a review. Our lunchtime deal is designed to offer a selection of our most popular tapas so glad you enjoyed your choices.
Please do come back for an evening and perhaps sample some of our other dishes and 'specials' plus of course our delicious desserts!
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for La Esquina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are a family that visits Southampton on a yearly basis. One of our priorities when we stay is to visit here. We are always made very welcome. Staff are very welcoming, attentive and efficient and the food is to die for... All freshly made to order, tasty and fast service. Children friendly. The music and decor etc all adds to the genuine Spanish feel... Would highly recommend. Looking forward to our next visit!

Thank hElly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for reviewing and recommending our restaurant. We're so pleased that you always make a point of coming to visit with your family when you are in Southampton. We are always happy to welcome families and appreciate the fact that our customers are giving their children the opportunity to try different types of food and eating.
We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As promised we returned to this wonderful restaurant on Saturday night. Is it wrong to just expect the food and service to be amazing, if it is then I am very very guilty and by no means disappointed. After we ordered and ate 8 fabulous dishes I managed to squeeze in a Creme Catalan but for my wife just a shot of Expresso to end the night. Again the stars for us were the Grilled Prawns and our all time favourite Chorizo in Red Wine. On leaving the restaurant we saw people queuing for a Pizza of the Express variety - why would you go to a high street chain when 30ft away is a chance to taste the best Spanish food Hampshire has to offer? Not sure when we will be back in Southampton again but when we are La Esquina will be at the top of our list of places to visit.

Thank tallulahSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting us again and once more taking the time to write a lovely review of our restaurant.
We're glad you enjoyed the food and that our service was to your expectation.
I'm sure all independent restaurants struggle to compete with the high street chains so it is interesting to hear your feedback in that respect.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Southampton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The food here was amazing. All freshly made and we could see it being made fresh in the kitchen. It's great for allergy sufferers and those on a restricted diet. My husband left feeling full which, due to his restricted diet, hasn't happened for a while!

The decor is basic but doesn't matter too much when the food is that good.

The limoncello gelato is the best ice cream I have ever tasted and I've eaten a lot! Absolutely delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Musicalkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks so much for your review and for your great feedback, we're so pleased that your husband was able to enjoy a meal here without worrying what he was able to eat. We do pride ourselves on preparing all of our food freshly including our home made desserts so it's great to hear that you enjoyed our limoncello gelato so much!
Thanks again and we hope you will visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We wanted to check out one of the bars or pubs on Oxford street, and read reviews about some of them. When we got there, La Esquina struck our eye versus the others nearby. Only spanish beer on draft, of course, but...good beer....Alhambra The tapas deal for three picks out of about twelve, with any drink for about 12 pounds was our pick, and the 3 tapas we picked very good. Nice sitting out at a sidewalk table and watched the setting.

1  Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant following your stay in Southampton. Our lunch deal has certainly proved to be very popular so glad you found it good value and tasty too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Bursledon, Southampton
Curbridge, Southampton
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing