We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice little Spanish Oasis in the centre of Southampton”
Review of La Esquina - CLOSED

La Esquina
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: La Esquina is a small, family run restaurant, serving a wide range of traditional and tasty Spanish tapas. Tapas are small dishes of delicious food, ideal to mix and match to your own preferences. A tapas meal is a very casual and sociable way of eating. Ideal to share and enjoy different tastes and textures. Choose from our comprehensive menu or add dishes from our specials board. Many of our dishes are suitable for vegetarians and almost all of our dishes are gluten free. Apart from our hot and cold tapas selection we also have some delicious home-made desserts. Tapas eating is great to celebrate all kind of occasions in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We are more than happy to cater for small or large groups and to discuss your individual requirements with you. To accompany your meal we have a great range of Spanish wines as well as Spanish beers and cider. We are open Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. so why not call in for a coffee, (light) lunch, business meeting or dinner with friends or family? Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you soon at La Esquina.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice little Spanish Oasis in the centre of Southampton”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The least flashiest restaurant in Oxford Street but struck us as having the nicest menu, not disappointed, very nice fresh tapas, excellent service and lovely friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10ymg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Many thanks for your great review of our restaurant, so glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again if you are in Southampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    52
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
334 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Really good food, very friendly staff”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ate a lovely meal here with a good friend this week. Very tasty food, nice wine, lovely friendly staff. It was a bit empty and soulless but it was a Tuesday and there were a few more people sitting outside but it was a tad cold for us. All in all, very good food and great value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and the meal you had, Tuesdays as most weekdays can be a bit quieter than normal depending on how many people venture out, saying thatwe can never really tell as some nights get very busy, lifestyles and weather I guess.
Thank you again and perhaps it will busier on your next visit to us, my staff are happy to welcome you whenever you call in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spanish Tapas in Southampton - unique!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I visited La Esquina as part my Dining Divas group on a Saturday evening. The service was brilliant from start to finish. As none of us had tried the restaurant before and was aware that tapas is a lot of different samples of dishes to try, we were not sure how a larger group would order etc. So I enquired about set menus to include a dessert. Although the restaurant did not offer this type of set menu, they switched it up, and created a set menu for us including 7 different dishes, plus a dessert.
On arriving to the restuarnt, it was bright, cheery and very busy! But the manager had fully warned me on confirmation that they were fully booked that evening.
So we were all seated, the waiter came to take our orders, as well as the set menu that we'd ordered, we decided to order some other starters, olives, breads, cheese and meats, we did say for the whole group (there were 7 of us) but individual portions came out so it did not appear to be enough food, although very ttasty, we thought we were clear when ordering as we said "for the whole table" and having not visited a tapas restaurant before was unsure of portion sizes.
When the food started to come out it was a bit bitty, one dish at a time, although I did not personally mind this, some of the other girls were suggesting it would have been nicer to have all at the same time to pick at as we wished. However, saying that I can honestly say that the food was very tasty, freshly cooked and although you think small portions - extremeley filling by the time you get to the end of the meal. I particularly enjoyed the King Prawns in chilli and the mushrooms in garlic, meatballs, calarmari - delicious. The house paella was also very nice.
We were able to choose any dessert from the menu - everyone also enjoyed their desserts - I had the chocolate brownie which was very nice.
Drinks wise, we ordered a couple of jugs of tap water and a couple of jugs of Sangria - which again was very nice and went down a treat with the food.
The staff were so good, prompt, hepful even though the restaurant was busy this night.
Our only negative as a group was that there was another table of lads near us who were extremeley noisy throughout our sitting - we could not hear ourselves talk to each other - and although my marks do not reflect my overall ratings, I just wanted to point this out. It's not the restaurants fault and maybe at the time we should have asked politely if the could have been asked to be a bit quieter, but we didn't like to.
I can see myself sitting in La Esquina over lunch , extending to late afternoon, just chilling and chatting with friends - so I will definitely go back and hopefully have a quieter table :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charli_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comprehensive review.
Great to hear that you and your 'Dining Divas'enjoyed your first tapas experience.
We do tend to get quite a few groups in at the weekends which does sometimes mean a 'lively' atmosphere and as our restaurant is small, it does get noisy.
We are open all day from 11 a.m. so if you wanted to come again for a leisurely lunch it would be great to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Really really enjoyed the food at La Esquina. Visited on a very busy Saturday night but the service was perfect and food was delivered to the table in a timely manner despite being full. Very pleased I had made a reservation - many disappointed diners were being turned away because the place was fully booked. The menu was quite extensive but the specials board had interesting tapas choices, especially the morcilla with scallops which was divine. I thought La Esquina ticked every box, superb service, tasty food and very reasonable prices - I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to give you the service that you expected even on a busy night.
We do try to change our specials board regularly to incorporate some new and different dishes but the morcilla with scallops has been especially popular!
Hope you will visit again when you have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best on Oxford Street”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for our pre - cruise meal . We visit Southampton regular and I must say that this is the best food we have eaten , I can't fault anything about it the service , menu , drinks . Needless to say we will return on our next visit . Thank you for a very enjoyable evening . Baz n Carol

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barryandlesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you both for your lovely review of La Esquina, great to hear that you had a good experience and enjoyed your meal.
Hope you are having a great time on your cruise and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Southampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing