We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly reliable and authentic”
Review of La Esquina - CLOSED

La Esquina
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: La Esquina is a small, family run restaurant, serving a wide range of traditional and tasty Spanish tapas. Tapas are small dishes of delicious food, ideal to mix and match to your own preferences. A tapas meal is a very casual and sociable way of eating. Ideal to share and enjoy different tastes and textures. Choose from our comprehensive menu or add dishes from our specials board. Many of our dishes are suitable for vegetarians and almost all of our dishes are gluten free. Apart from our hot and cold tapas selection we also have some delicious home-made desserts. Tapas eating is great to celebrate all kind of occasions in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We are more than happy to cater for small or large groups and to discuss your individual requirements with you. To accompany your meal we have a great range of Spanish wines as well as Spanish beers and cider. We are open Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. so why not call in for a coffee, (light) lunch, business meeting or dinner with friends or family? Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you soon at La Esquina.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Utterly reliable and authentic”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was probably our 10th visit or more over the last year. The food is always delicious and imaginative, the decor is simple with an authentic Spanish feel and the welcome is warm and genuine. Easily our favourite restaurant in Southampton right now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaltourist52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your great review of La Esquina and thanks for being a regular customer. It's always great to see people coming back again. Hope we continue to be your favourite restaurant!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    52
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the appearance...”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this restaurant online having never visited before, so I wasn't sure what we would get. The restaurant itself looks very cafe like but having said that pehaps this is a deliberate look. The staff were really good; friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was really good too although the staff suggested 6 tapas dishes between 2 and we could probably have managed 8 ! Perhaps we are just greedy...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant. We do try not to appear too 'pretentious' - hence a more informal look to try and attract a wide market. Our aim is to offer great food and good service in a relaxed and informal setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Walking around on a Saturday night trying to find somewhere to eat on a busy Saturday night haing dropped our son of at Uni. Failed get in anywhere when chanced this restaurant. Only available seats at bar.... Fabulous. Very friendly, lovely food, an insight into a busy restaurant and how it works. Authentic, very well priced. Infinitely better than any faux Spanish chains. Well worth a visit, will hopefully be back. Always a old sign when Spanish nationals eating there

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhydian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Rhydian - thanks so much for your great review of La Esquina. Glad that you had a good evening even though you had to sit at the bar - although that is the Spanish way!!! Be great to see you any time you are down this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tapas!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were recommended to go here by friends and we will be returning soon. Great food and a friendly host made for a fantastic and relaxed dining experience. Never rushed or pushed to order we really enjoyed our evening here. We even ordered a second round of the prawns in garlic and chilli oil because they were so good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review of our restaurant, we get quite a lot of customers who have been recommended by friends and family so we're pleased that you and your friends enjoyed it. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spain at home”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Great little restaurant in the heart of Oxford Street. Great food and service with a good selection of food Spanish tapas at its best. Well worth a visit and a fantastic meeting place with friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Mario - thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, we appreciate each one and they are all helpful to others when deciding where to eat in Oxford Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Bursledon, Southampton
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Curbridge, Southampton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing