We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice in one week was not enough!”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #28 of 854 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: One of the area's most friendly, and welcoming Italian restaurants, Piccolo Mondo 1 is the oldest in the city, having been established since 1969.Piccolo Mondo is open for lunch and evening meals. With seating for only 34 people, it is small enough to have an intimate atmosphere, but also welcomes families.There is a good choice of value for money meals including authentic pizzas and pastas, together with a selection of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes, and not forgetting their home-made bread and desserts. Smaller sized meals are available for children. Parties of up to 25 people can be catered for
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Twice in one week was not enough!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When my friends suggested we go here for lunch I had never heard of it or seen it before but as soon as I stepped inside I fell in love. The food was amazing, in fact I had forgotten how good pasta should be, and was gutted I could not finish my meal (very generous portions and very reasonably priced). The service and food were so good I went back the same week with my husband and very unadventurously had the exact same meal because I couldn't believe it was as amazing as I remembered...it was. So now I have to go back and try the pizza!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    75
    15
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian food prepared with love and served with pride”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

On a day trip from London to visit friends I was taken by them to Piccolo Mondo for lunch. This is one of their all time favourite eateries and they've been regulars themselves for years. I can see why. This is unpretentious, hearty food made with excellent ingredients by people who know exactly what they are doing. Ambience warm and welcoming. Plain wooden tables and chairs, no soft furnishings or unnecessary frills and fripperies. We shared a selection of starters - big fat olives, salad tricolore generously dressed with balsamic and intensely flavoured olive oil, home made focachia with rosemary - crispy on the outside, dense and chewy inside and laced again with wonderful aromatic olive oil. I had Penne tonno: flakes of tuna in a delicious and deeply flavoured tomato sauce. My friends had tagliatelli Putanesqua - piquante and 'tart' (and with the same rich tomato sauce). Pasta perfectly al dente - as you'd expect! - and served with generous amounts of parmesan. My friends were unable to finish their ample portions (smaller appetites than me!) but the waitress was totally unfazed by their request to take away what they couldn't manage and boxed it up for them. Service was prompt, unfussy, warm and friendly. Fairly busy at lunchtime (including obviously regular customers from nearby offices), but we were easily seated without having made a booking. Might be busier in the evening - I'd certainly book to be sure. Over-all, I cannot recommend highly enough. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardSE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Still the best”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Piccolo Mondo is the best restaurant in Southampton, whilst we a lucky to have some great restauarants in the New Forest (Lime Wood, Terra Vina) there arent any in Southampton and this small italian has been quietly serving some of the best pizza you will ever taste for years and years. For foodies, families or dinner dates, the people are lovely and the food is exceptional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmoVitelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic Italian food and hospitality”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Amazing food and great hospitality. The portions are generous and it is great value as well as being extremely tasty! We go as often and highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stand'a back,Stand'a back it's a ready”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The best restaurant in Southampton, I have eaten in a few restaurants around the world and no restaurants make a Calzone pizza like Piccolo Mondo's. Mmmmmmmmmmm

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bollocks1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing