We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Southampton
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great food, excellent service for a large party”
Review of Wahaca Southampton

Wahaca Southampton
Ranked #60 of 1,034 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Description: The fresh taste of Mexico's markets in Oaxaca (pronounced 'Wahaca'), served in Southampton. Co-founded by Masterchef winner Thomasina Miers, drop in for tasty tacos, taquitos, burritos and other street food treats. They also have an enviable list of freshly shaken cocktails and Mexico's finest tequilas and mezcals.
Restaurant details
Description: The fresh taste of Mexico's markets in Oaxaca (pronounced 'Wahaca'), served in Southampton. Co-founded by Masterchef winner Thomasina Miers, drop in for tasty tacos, taquitos, burritos and other street food treats. They also have an enviable list of freshly shaken cocktails and Mexico's finest tequilas and mezcals.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were 9 people, including 3 children, we had booked online in advance, and we were very well looked after. Food was wonderful- one of us is veggie and two of us are flexitarian, so we ordered a lot of veggie food- all delicious. Staff very patient with the children making up their minds. Adults shared a wide variety of dishes, which all came quickly- very impressive

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasminKent, General Manager at Wahaca Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Diana B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice 5* review!
We're glad to hear how much you enjoy your dinner with us.
Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again,
Team Wahaca Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First visit to a Wahaca, fairly quiet mid-week lunchtime. Server was very polite and efficient. Good menu choices, found it difficult to decide what to have but really enjoyed the sweet potato bowl and the shared quesadillas. It was also one of the best non-alcoholic drinks menus I've seen in a while which was great for my friend who was driving.
Would imagine when it is busy that the restaurant could be quite cramped.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasminKent, General Manager at Wahaca Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback.

Regards team Wahaca Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

We booked a table to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. The table was ready on our arrival and every staff member was welcoming, especially the young male manager and Kinga who served us.
The service we exceptional from start to finish and we will definitely return! Kinga recommended items off the menu and every item of food was brilliant. We shared several tacos and had the churros and brownie for dessert. Thank you so much.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasminKent, General Manager at Wahaca Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Elle Semper,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review.
We really appreciate the support and we're glad you did enjoy your dinner with us!
Rafa and Kinga will be really happy to hear how much they helped to make your celebration especial.

We hope to see you back soon!

Thanks again,
Team Wahaca Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Being as we booked a table for 4 we turned up and they said that they’d given our table away and would sort something out and then put us on 1 Square table for 2 people really and when I went to the person who sat us there and said that the table wasn’t suitable for 4 people she said that she didn’t understand and that they’d never had a problem with it in the past. But by the time we got our drinks, bottle of water sharing starters the multiple dishes we struggled and it wasn’t an enjoyable experience so will not be going back again

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank andrewwE2459VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasminKent, Manager at Wahaca Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Hi there,

I'm really sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us - would really like the chance to discuss with you further if you can drop me an email on southampton@wahaca.co.uk
Team Wahaca Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

The service was second to none, the food to die for... nice atmosphere and fair prices, we were a table of 8 and we we all left full and happy, looking forward to our return :)

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank emo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasminKent, Manager at Wahaca Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Hi Emo77

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such nice feedback, hope to see you back soon.

Regards
team Wahaca Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahaca Southampton also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Wahaca Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing