We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcantara Guest House
Ranked #7 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay with excellent service”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The staff were very friendly and throughout my whole stay and were quite helpful, offering suggestions for things to do and how to get places. I started out in a single room at the front of the building, which was small but not tiny, and fine unless you were planning on spending all day in the room. I was later moved to a double room with ensuite, which was quite spacious.

I slept well each night and didn't notice any problems with noise, provided the window was shut. The rooms were clean and had a tray of tea, coffee and biscuits that was restocked every day. The breakfast in the morning was very filling with plenty of options, so I usually just had a very light lunch.

I was visiting the University of Southampton for 3 weeks and stayed here. When I called to make my booking I had mentioned this, and when I arrived the owner gave me a copy of the campus map and directions on how to get there. Although there were busses, I decided to walk to the campus, which was about a 25 - 30 min walk at a leisurely pace, through the common. The walk to the train station or the city centre was a little shorter.

The only problem I had with the room was the wifi signal was very weak in my room, and the internet connection stopped working late at night a few times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drloky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
24
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed at the Alcantara for 3 nights each week over a 6 month period while i was working in Southampton.

The owner A.J and the other staff are very friendly and helpful. Even when fully booked during busy periods like Boat Show week A.J. organised alternative accommodation for me next door and let me come back to the Alcantara for breakfast!
The breakfast is excellent, with good coffee and fresh fruit salad and the cooked breakfast is very tasty with quality ingredients.

The rooms are a good size and have nice en-suite bathrooms and are very clean. There is free wireless broadband and plenty of parking.

Everything is done really well here and you are made to feel at home. I will definitely be back should I be working in Southampton again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_lotus111s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I have stayed in several hotels in Southampton, and the Alcantara is the best value for money. The rooms are cosy and clean, and the hotel is very close to the city centre. The home cooked breakfast is fabulous and the owner is very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The Alcantara Guesthouse is a home away from home for me on the days I need to spend in Southampton, away from my London home, in order to teach part-time at Southampton Uni. Situated in the leafy suburb of Shirley, near the university and not far from the city centre, Alcantara has everything a business traveller needs: clean, cosy rooms, friendly staff, plentiful, home-cooked breakfast and utterly reasonable prices. You can book online or by phone, and the staff will instantly remember your name and special needs. If you forget to bring any basic toiletries, there is a small stock available to replace them. If you have special diatery requirements, they will be catered for. And if you want to learn about the warm heart of Southampton without staying there for a long time, then this is definitely a place to start.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galsandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I stayed at Alcantara on the 'weekend special' of £100 for two nights which was superb value. We were greeted on arrival and shown to our spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped en suite room. The guest house was quiet and relaxed and the breakfast each morning was cooked to order and was delicious! If I'm in the Southampton area again I will be returning here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I recently had to stay in Southampton for two nights whilst on business. I did the normal thing surfed the net taking my budget into account and plumped for Alcantara Guest House hoping that I wouldn't be disappointed.

I had no need to worry as Alcantara turned out to be a real gem from the moment I arrived. I was warmly greeted by one of the owners and shown to my comfortable ensuite room. Everything was well explained to me and I felt immediately relaxed. The following morning I was delighted by the wide choice of breakfast dishes including fresh fruit salad, and poached haddock topped with an egg . I was totally spoilt for choice. I stuck however with "the full english" and therefore can highly recommend the sausages and black pudding!

Aj the owner explained how best for me to get to my business destination and also recommended places for me to eat locally that night.

If looking to stay near the centre of Southampton I would highly recommend staying at this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia100Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I stayed at the Alcantara a few times over a period of several months and A.J, the owner, was always extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are large and comfortable and were always spotlessly clean. Although not a big breakfast fan, I found myself enjoying the real coffee and fresh fruit that was always available & the cooked breakfasts that other guests had looked good too. The Alcantara is in a central position with lots of parking, not far from restaurants & shops or from the motorways & so is easy to get to. There is also free wifi. I would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to anyone who needs to stay in Southampton. S. Robb

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayfair Guest House
The Mayfair Guest House
#1 of 43 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcantara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcantara Guest House

Property: Alcantara Guest House
Address: 20 Howard Road, Southampton SO15 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcantara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alcantara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing